Skip to content

San Francisco, Take 1

March 11, 2009

danielle-jessica1

Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, California. Fall 2003

When I first got the email, I didn’t let myself hope.

“They say you either have time or money . . .” my California friend Jessica wrote. “And since I just got laid off, I’ve got the time. Why don’t you come out for a visit? We can do it on the cheap.” With the economy the way it is, I didn’t know if we could swing it. But thanks to some extra money from our tax return, super-duper round-trip flight deals, a sweet husband who’s willing to take care of the boys solo, I’m going to San Fransisco, California, for a long weekend!

It’s really a now or never opportunity. We get to stay in San Francisco free of charge with a whole apartment to ourselves, thanks to Jessica’s boyfriend being out of town. And, since Jessica is planning on coming east for a master’s program this fall, if things work out, who knows when she’ll be living in California again.

It was six years ago that I was last in San Francisco for a visit, and since then I’ve seen her twice, when she came to my wedding and another short visit. I’m also excited about our tentative plans to visit Alcatraz, Recchiuti Confections, take a free walking tour of the city, check out Chinatown again, and possibly go to the de Young for an Andy Warhol exhibit.

I’m most excited to hang out with Jessica for three days of laughter, conversation, and good food. When you’re with Jessica, good food is always involved. I can’t believe I’m leaving next week! This will be my first overnight away from the boys since they were born, and I know I’ll miss both them and my Sweetie. But I’m very excited for this “girl time”. I’m even excited for the uninterrupted of read time during the flight! I’ll come back with lots of pictures from my trip to share with you all . . .

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne & Justin permalink
    March 11, 2009 10:13 am

    OH DANIELLE! I’m SO happy you get to do this. You will LOVE the quiet and girl time. OF course you will miss all 3 of you boys terribly but it will make it SO great to see them again. 🙂
    MUCHO KUDOS to Josh for being awesome, and I CANNOT wait to see pictures. HAVE A BLAST!

  2. March 11, 2009 10:59 am

    Woo-hoo!!! Have fun girl!

  3. March 11, 2009 11:55 am

    Celebrating this rare but wonderful opportunity with you and can’t wait to read about your adventures. (Josh, you’re a good man!) Hope you ALL have a fun weekend!

  4. March 11, 2009 12:06 pm

    Have a great time! So glad it worked out. Can’t wait to see your pictures.

  5. March 11, 2009 2:54 pm

    oh, so, so cool! I hope you have so much fun, Danielle! what an awesome break for you!

  6. zoanna permalink
    March 11, 2009 2:55 pm

    We loved San Francisco. We went there for Paul to receive a sort of “master’s degree” in his field. Lett all three kids, ages 3.2 adn 10mos. It was hard to leave, but once in SF, all guilt subsided! It’a a beautiful spot for R&R and I’d love to go again. So enjoy your girl time, your little retreat. Blessings to Josh for being such a good daddy and hubby.

  7. March 12, 2009 4:23 pm

    Ha! That’s so Jessica, to think, “I’m laid off, no job… guess I should invite somebody to visit me!” I hope you have amazing fun. And what a wonderful break for you. Josh is definite ranking superhero status for this.

    — SJ

  8. March 12, 2009 5:53 pm

    I know, Sara, very Jessica to be sure! 🙂

  9. zoanna permalink
    March 12, 2009 7:21 pm

    Hey, when I click on your
    “thoughts” post, an Error comes up. Are you aware of it?

  10. March 15, 2009 3:14 pm

    Hi Danielle – didn’t feel like scrounging up your email address, so I wanted to drop a comment here. You know that photo archiving/back-up conversation we’ve been having? Shutter Sisters put up a terrific post on that this morning! Here’s the link!

    http://shuttersisters.com/home/2009/3/15/sunday-school-backup-plan.html

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  11. Bethany permalink
    March 17, 2009 11:36 am

    You will love it!!! Wish I was closer or not preggo and I would totally come up there. One of my favorite cities.

Leave a Reply

