Skip to content

First Attempt

February 18, 2009

dsc_0112

I first heard about Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day on–where else–the Splendid Table podcast! Then I discovered some of the recipes over at Mother Earth News. I printed out the article recipes and decided to try it sometime. Next, I discovered two friends, including Amy, had already made it and all were claiming it was easy. I’ve attempted Beer Bread before and it was tasty but didn’t rise correctly. I was a little leary of this whole bread baking business but really wanted to learn. So, on Monday I made up the master recipe: Boule. It was easy and after mixing (I added a few teaspoons of dried thyme and rosemary) you let it sit a few hours before popping it into the fridge. No kneading needed!

I didn’t get a chance to make the bread until today. I cut a hunk off and tried to shape it like the description. Don’t think I succeeded in that aspect. Then, it rested for 40 minutes before going into the oven to bake for 30 minutes. Mine got a bit misshapen from the transfer from bread board to the stone. But turns out it didn’t matter. It tastes delicious! I can’t believe the flavor! The bread is delightfully crusty on the outside and moist and chewy on the inside.

If you are at all interested in bread baking, this is the recipe for you! And the wonderful thing is there’s lots of variations on this recipe from pizza dough to sticky pecan caramel rolls.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 4:41 pm

    I THOUGHT something looked different when I stopped here a second ago to get your link! This looks beautiful, and I’m going to have to try it!

    Also, you have been tagged.

    http://kellysphotographyblog.blogspot.com/2009/02/tagged-in-four.html

  2. Anne permalink
    February 18, 2009 5:50 pm

    dang girl. That looks mighty tasty.
    I have been wanting to get into bread baking for YEARS, but I’ve been:
    1. thinking I could NEVER make good bread.
    2. lazy.
    Thanks for sharing. I’m definately trying this out.

  3. February 18, 2009 6:11 pm

    Looks wonderful. Wanna make me a loaf?

  4. February 18, 2009 10:27 pm

    Thanks, Danielle! I’m going to have to try this sometime. It looks delicious!

  5. February 19, 2009 4:24 am

    I have kind of gotten into bread making myself lately. One of my new years resolutions is to bake bread in the bread machine for my kids to eat. Reason #1: So I can control what goes into the bread (I always include whole wheat flour), and limit the amount of preservatives they are eating, and Reason #2: to save money (the bread is about $2 a loaf on base, which is outrageous!). I love the convenience of my bread machine, but there’s nothing like making it by hand!! It’s always better that way! I’ll have to check this recipe out!

  6. February 19, 2009 7:12 am

    Looks great! I can make bread, but it doesn’t look as good as yours! I’ll have to be trying this out…

  7. bethyoung permalink
    February 19, 2009 10:04 am

    this looks awesome! I definitely have to try it. Thanks for posting!

  8. February 19, 2009 10:40 am

    yours looks gorgeous! I think my last round was too wet. I made the last loaf of it Tuesday and it was really runny at the bottom of the bowl–and the bread seems a little gummy. Still good, but the texture isn’t quite right. I need to get another batch going today! I’m anxious to try whole-wheat versions.

  9. Jodie permalink
    February 19, 2009 9:50 pm

    Excuse me while I salivate all over myself …

  10. February 20, 2009 2:54 pm

    Think the recipe could be adapted for whole wheat??

Leave a Reply

