Skip to content

Kitchen Entry Way Wall

February 17, 2009

dsc_0154

I had this big empty wall in the kitchen I was trying to figure out what to do with. It’s the wall next to my office that faces our french doors out to the deck. So, whatever I did had to take into consideration the fact that it would get lots of sun. This knocked out any idea of framed prints or anything of that nature. I really wanted an area to hang jackets, etc. when we come in from outside. But I wanted it to be pleasing to the eye too. I LOVE Pottery Barn’s entry way collection, but we don’t have the money to spend on that. So here’s what I came up with for about twenty-five odd dollars.

I got the large “J” from Jo-Ann Fabric and Craft Store. It was on sale so I got it for around $8 and spray painted it antique white (it was paper mache). I love monograms and initials as decoration inside houses! I’m a huge fan of typography and love to incorporate it in my house. Then I looked around for a shelf. I found an unfinished one from Michael’s and with my 40% off coupon bought it for about $9! Josh primed and spray painted it and took off the wooden knobs and we added the silver hardware instead. We probably spend about $25 on buying everything we needed for this project including spray paint and hardware. What a deal!

I’m not sure about what I’m going to display on the shelf. I’m not crazy about the collection I have on it right now, but it works for the time being. I love my antique Blue Willow china and it’s nice to have a bit of it out. It has such a worn, homey feel. However, I’ll probably change what’s on the shelf with the seasons. To completely finish it off, the plan is to put a bench beneath the shelf and buy this wonderful Ikea shoe rack to put under the bench.

dsc_0152

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 11:34 am

    Danielle, it looks really great! I’m a fan of using Pottery Barn mostly for ideas, as you have as well. I’m sure that the shoe rack will look really good!

    You may want to try grouping the blue and white china together as I think it would flow better and you may be happier. The tea lights look great there, too. What about a small plant or herb? With all of that sunshine, I bet it would grow well and look good too.

    Again, it looks really great!

  2. February 17, 2009 11:50 am

    Looks great. I love that you put all these ideas into practice. I’d probably buy the items and say I’m going to do it tomorrow for years on end.

  3. Anne permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:55 pm

    Who really buys all Pottery Barn? Can anyone really afford to furnish a whole house PB?
    ANd HOORAY for MIcheals!!! I mean, that store rocks, esp. when you get a 40% off coupon, or better yet 50%! ROCK! The shelf looks so great! I also, love the J, and the IKEA shoe rack. Classic and simple. Very chic.
    I actually really like the vase setup you have going on…I like where you are going. I like changing things up too with each season. It’s fun. SO sweet. Nicely done. 🙂

  4. February 17, 2009 4:56 pm

    Thanks guys! Great ideas, Beth! I’m thinking of planting a little pot of grass, per your suggestion, Beth.

  5. February 17, 2009 6:43 pm

    Oooo…I like it a lot. The 2nd shot really shows just how big that J is. I love it. I will now NOT be posting any of my pictures publicly. My projects simply do not stack up. We just dont’ have the skills over here, but I’m trying. 🙂 I like the plates, too…a touch of elegance, high enough that your rough and tumble buddies can’t reach (until, that is, you buy your bench…then you will likely want to take them down). 🙂

    You’ll just have to come over to see what I’ve done OR I’ll email them to you. I haven’t taken any shots of anything yet b/c I’m not done, but getting there.

  6. February 17, 2009 6:45 pm

    Oh, and I love having a “spot” where one can change decor easily to fit the season. I got this idea from Amy Hollin who does so with her mantle.

  7. February 17, 2009 6:49 pm

    So cute! That J is very fun!

  8. February 18, 2009 8:16 am

    Danielle it looks great. Maybe I should have you come and take a look at my ‘space’ – I’m just hopeless that things like this! We have a nature tray which I’d like to make into a nature table, but haven’t the table!

  9. bethyoung permalink
    February 18, 2009 9:17 am

    yea, that first picture doesn’t do that “J” justice! I love how prominent it is. Looks perfect.

  10. February 18, 2009 9:46 am

    I moved the blue dishes closer together Beth, and you’re right, they look better!

  11. February 18, 2009 1:24 pm

    Danielle, I also saw this really neat idea in a Flickr shot the other day: http://www.flickr.com/photos/29863498@N07/3275146922/

    I think you could use something like this if you wanted to fill the wall in a bit more…

  12. February 18, 2009 10:26 pm

    Love it!

  13. mom permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:06 pm

    Really, really nice honey. Especially all your $ savings on project. One word of caution. If you are going to be hanging coats it will probably be taking a bit of rough handling. Does the shelf have a grove for the plates to rest in or a little strip of wood to hold things in place. If not Josh could do easily enough. Do you remember my shelf with my rabbitt stuff?

  14. February 20, 2009 8:56 am

    The shelf came with a groove! It’s a great shelf for $8!

Leave a Reply

