Skip to content

The Suffering

February 4, 2009

dsc_0104On Sunday, we had a guest speaker at church. Jeff Purswell spoke to us on Psalm 13 in a message entitled, The Suffering. It was one of the most powerful messages I’ve ever heard on the subject. I encourage anyone reading this blog to listen to it. The truth is, if you aren’t in a suffering circumstance right now, you will be at some point in your future. This message will encourage you if you’re in a trial currently, or prepare you for meeting one.

I know I want to be like the David, who “through his tears he catches a glimpse of God. Despite his turmoil, he chooses to trust. With parched lips and quavering voice, he begins to sing. Despite all the observable evidence, and contrary to his human feelings, the psalmist finds his security and confidence in Yahweh.” – Daniel Estes

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2009 8:19 am

    I was reminded of this same thing yesterday, listening to “Blessed be the Name of the Lord” on the radio, which talks about the darkness closing in, and yet still we will bless His name. I have always identified with the words of Job- “Though He slay me, yet will I praise Him.”

  2. February 5, 2009 9:45 am

    This was such a very powerful and important message for us to hear. I praise God that He meets us with this need of comfort through our Sorrow. I too want to be like David!

  3. February 5, 2009 11:24 am

    I cannot wait until I get home and can listen to this message. (I am at work now and do not have the capability for audio stuff on this computer). This is a lesson that speaks to me, as life is messy and I often find myself in situations that I know I can learn from if I am just mature enough.

    Still working on that.

  4. February 5, 2009 11:59 am

    thanks for posting this link–i’m hoping to check it out soon.

  5. February 7, 2009 5:21 pm

    That was such a wonderful message for me. Hey Josh said he had a poem for me. Can you e-mail it to me please?
    Thanks Donna

  6. Bethany permalink
    February 13, 2009 6:00 pm

    OH I need to take a moment and listen to this.

Leave a Reply

