Skip to content

Comfort

February 1, 2009

dsc_0049

Father of compassion. God of all comfort.

These descriptions of God have been precious to me in recent years. God comforts me no matter what my trial, I know that so well. I can go to him and know that he will provide me with just what I need for each moment in my life. And not only that, he wants me to extend that comfort to others. He actually wants to work through me to bless others. He wants the comfort he’s given me to overflow into the lives of others. I must be a willing vessel to allow him to use me in such a way.

At first, the pain might seem too deep or fresh to imagine God ever using me to comfort someone else. But eventually, the time will come. Will I be willing? It ultimately is not about me, but the treasure of comfort, compassion, and salvation I’ve found in him. It takes humility and openness to be used in such a way. It involves the risk of allowing someone to see the pain I’ve experienced. It may even take me opening that wound back up again, allowing me to feel the hurt that I have closed myself off to. It would be easier to say nothing, to not reveal myself to another. Offer no encouragement, no words of comfort.

But I’m called to overflow.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows. 2 Corinthians 1:3-5

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 10:10 am

    Danielle, one of the most comforting things I find in facing what I go through is knowing that someone else is there, or that they have been there, that what they say is something they know deep in their soul because they have lived what I am living or worse.

    I needed that verse today… Thanks for opening yourself.

  2. February 2, 2009 5:15 pm

    Amen, Danielle. I could have written this myself…except I don’t think it would have been as eloquent! I was recounting to someone the other day how God has been able to use my pain in encouraging others…and now, how He is using it as I walk though my current trials. He is good!

  3. February 3, 2009 1:50 pm

    Thanks for reminding me that my current trials will be used for His glory.

  4. evenshine permalink
    February 4, 2009 10:32 am

    Beautiful! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

