Skip to content

While my back was turned . . .

January 25, 2009

I was on the phone talking to Josh while retrieving a file on the computer to email to him. Things got very quiet. Always a bad sign. However, I thought, “aren’t the boys playing so nicely.”

dsc_0002

This was my first sight of their bedroom. Note the bed, pulled almost into the middle of the room!

dsc_0004

Wow, they even turned over the “bedside” table. Thankfully the CD player & sound machine are still intact.

dsc_00031

Although my documentation only shows Duncan as the culprit, Owen was involved too! I can’t believe all of this happened and I didn’t hear any crashing! I have to say, I’m impressed with all the mess they created in about five minutes!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. melodyejoy permalink
    January 25, 2009 4:43 pm

    Oh my!!! I remember when Brent was in daycare with another little boy his age (they were 2-3), my daycare mother said she had to pee very, very quickly or Brent and Aaron would make a mess! You really do a great job of remembering to take pictures BEFORE cleaning up! How else will you be able to completely document your true “untidy” life 🙂 to share with them when they are old men!!! Have a great Sunday! Melodye

  2. Anne permalink
    January 25, 2009 5:01 pm

    haha. They did do well in 5 minutes!
    I’m impressed!
    quiet is ok if it is max..NOT so if it is Evan or if the two of them are together.
    Boys will be boys. why do they gotta be so messy?

  3. January 25, 2009 6:51 pm

    WOW, look at that! We’ve had similar things happen before too. You always know when it’s quiet, they are up to something!

  4. January 26, 2009 8:08 am

    Miguel couldn’t BELIEVE that this was possible…he has no idea what we’re in for, does he?!

  5. January 26, 2009 8:39 am

    Impressive. 🙂 I remember when I was at an OB appointment when I was pregnant with H and J, I saw an article that said something like, “What one can’t (do), two WILL!”

    Just wait until they are 5!

    Benjamin was quiet the other day and we found him swirling his arms in the toilet. EWWWW.

  6. January 26, 2009 10:03 am

    Nice destruction…I think the fact that there are two of them augments what would have happened with only one…but you can never tell!

  7. January 26, 2009 10:04 am

    Wow! OK, this must be a major difference between having girls and boys. My girls certainly know how to make a mess and very quickly, but they haven’t moved furniture. At least not yet! Hopefully Savannah doesn’t take on that!

  8. January 26, 2009 10:14 am

    wow..that is impressive. The boys did something similar to their bedroom but were old enough that they had to clean it all up. They were not so quiet about it, though. They were laughing and carrying on so much that I let them at it. There’s nothing in their room they can destroy (or so I think). 🙂 I keep very little in their room as a result. You do have your hands full w/ these two.

  9. bethyoung permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:59 am

    oh my gosh, THAT is hysterical! I love how the kitchen whisk is in the bedroom, too.

  10. emilyclancy permalink
    January 26, 2009 2:24 pm

    My kids (well, really Asher) regularly make a mess like this in our basement where all the toys are stashed. I always say to my husband that it looks like a drunken rock star’s hotel room!

    One word of advice that comes from experience, if you have or ever have a dresser in the boys’ room, anchor it to the wall. We have had several overturned dressers, some with children under them. Scary!

  11. zoanna permalink
    January 27, 2009 11:57 am

    It does my heart good to see these pictures. Honestly, it does!
    Brings back so many memories. I would certainly echo what Emily says about dressers. One time in the summer (we had only window AC at the time and it was in our bedroom) Stephen used open drawers as ladder rungs to climb to try to climb to the top of Paul’s dresser.
    He pulled it over on himself and was pinned between it and the twin mattress we kept onthe floor for the kids to sleep on at night (to keep cool). Thankfully something fell off and crashed onto the hardwood floor to alert me. (My back was turned, and the other kids were in on the “fun” WAY too quiet). I was able to lift the heavy dresser off my toddler, and thankfully he was just scared (as was I!).

    I love real life shots, so keep ’em coming.

  12. January 27, 2009 2:08 pm

    omg.

    Lovely work, boys. You keep it up, let your mother know how much you need her. Let us know about all that vim and verve and vigor you’ve got going.

    Danielle, you’re amazing. I could not do this with two.

  13. zoanna permalink
    January 28, 2009 9:43 am

    Unrelated to this post: I put my answer to your grammar question below your question on my blog. Hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

