Skip to content

First Snow

January 21, 2009

dsc_0011

On Monday we went outside to enjoy the wonderful snow. I wanted the boys to experience their first time of playing in the white stuff. I was aware, however, our time would be short. Mainly because the boys hate wearing mittens!

I was right. I think our time getting all the winter gear on and playing was 20 minutes total! They were cautious at first, but then had fun stomping around in it. But, after hands got cold and mittens wet, a fall and a bloody lip, tears were flowing. It was back inside for a warm up. Maybe more success next time!

dsc_00013

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 12:47 pm

    I love the winter wear. that is a cute hat! I am so grateful for snow “play time” right now. There will come a day when you can just send them out and they get their own snow pants, coats, hats, glove, and boots on….and then hang them up when they come back in!!! Ah, life is good! Our kids play in the snow for an hour or two a day here. There is at least 8 inches right now. I hope it stays snowy all winter.

  2. January 21, 2009 3:34 pm

    I’m hangin’ onto Laurie’s words…but, I will say that I caught of glimpse of that “light at the end of the tunnel” the other day when my boys actually asked to go outside in the snow. I still have to help w/ the gloves, but they got most of the rest of themselves dressed. And, they can’t go far (nor do they b/c my boys aren’t adventurous like that). I only allowed them on the back deck and briefly in the back yard b/c I was up in the kitchen. And, it didn’t last hours…about 20 minutes. But, it gave me hope. 🙂

    Love seeing my guys’ gear on them..I really do. You will know the feeling when you see Marie’s boys in the stuff.

  3. January 21, 2009 5:36 pm

    Wish we had snow down where I am…my daughter (4) wakes up every day asking if the snow has come yet. Hoping to break out those mittens soon!
    Also…as far as mittens go, a little bit of duct tape goes a loooong way, I’ve found…:)

  4. Bethany permalink
    January 23, 2009 12:38 pm

    These are so fun. They look so big stomping around out there.

Leave a Reply

