Skip to content

Mexican Hot Chocolate

January 13, 2009

So I’m a hot chocolate junkie, I admit. I’ve already shared a delicious powder mix for hot chocolate. Now here’s a recipe for something special and very rich. I made it last night for dessert. I know I’ve shared it before, but can’t help but share this recipe again. Enjoy!

Mexican Hot Chocolate (Serves 4)

1/4 C. sugar
1/4 C. unsweetened cocoa
1/2 Tsp. instant coffee powder or granules
1/8 Salt
1 C. water
1 stick cinnamon (if I don’t have a stick I just sprinkle some powdered cinnamon in)
2 C. milk
1 C. half-and-half
1 Tbs. vanilla extract
1/8 tsp. ground cloves

In a 2-quart saucepan, mix sugar, cocoa, instant coffee, and salt. Stir in water; add cinnamon stick. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes

Add milk and half-and-half to cocoa mixture, stirring constantly. Bring to a boil and then remove from heat.

Mix in vanilla and cloves; remove cinnamon stick; beat until foamy, then serve.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 8:55 am

    I think I’ll make this with the kids. we’ll call it international day and have tamales for lunch 🙂 . You always post the BEST recipes, Danielle. keep it going. weekly would be great 😉 .

  2. Ashleigh permalink
    January 13, 2009 9:59 am

    I’ll have to try this! I love hot chocolate. Lately, I’ve been making it with the European Sipping Chocolate I have. Yum!!!

  3. January 13, 2009 12:23 pm

    Kahlua in this is to DIE for 😉

  4. January 14, 2009 10:28 am

    this sounds amazing. yummy!

  5. January 14, 2009 5:15 pm

    I’m liking the instant coffee granules. I’m saving this one!

  6. January 16, 2009 10:27 am

    just got inside from walking our puppy. Now i think i am in some need of your chocolate therapy! 😉

Leave a Reply

