Skip to content

Out With The Old, In With The New

January 2, 2009

Last year I made goals for myself and for the first time ever, I actually set out attempting to accomplish them. About once a month I’d review my goals for the year and just try to focus on one thing at a time. I think one reason I did better is because I made my goals public, so it helped to spur me on. A kind of accountability. So here’s what happened:

Goals 2008

1.    Make a new recipe every week, chosen from the existing cookbooks I own. Systematically pick a recipe from each of my books.

I did this really well for about the first month or two and that was about it. I often try new recipes, but not always from the cookbooks I own. I was trying to make use of my cookbooks because I have so many of them.

2.    Practice hospitality by inviting someone over once a month (non-family member).

Made progress in this area and had lots of different folks over this year! Such a blessing to hang out with new and old friends!

3.    Set up design business: print business cards and get website up and running.

I DID design my website but that was it. But now I’m already redesigning it!

4.    Write and illustrate children’s book on Amy Carmichael. Made excellent progress! Finished 5 illustrations for the book. I was trying to do one illustration a month, and obviously didn’t get that done. Some took longer than a month, some months it didn’t happen. That’s okay. There’s progress just the same.

5.    Practice guitar consistently and start learning electric guitar. Continue songwriting.

Here’s my big let down. I did well on this until April and then stopped when I was planning the boys’ birthday and never got back on track the rest of the year. There’s just no easy time. I can’t when they’re awake (they climb all over me), it’s too loud when they’re asleep. What can ya do? At night I’m just too tired. I did manage to write one song, however.

6.    Learn to use all the manual settings on my camera.

I made a lot of progress in this area. My technical skills have grown considerably and allowed me more creative freedom and confidence. I used Understanding Exposure as my reference guide. Still have a long way to go!

7.    Grow in my role of motherhood

When I made this goal, I was mainly thinking intellectually and spiritually, I think. I read A Mother’s Heart, Shepherding a Child’s Heart, and Don’t Make Me Count to Three in order to grow in this area. I mainly saw this goal as preparing and laying ground work for the future. Last January most of my care consisted of feeding and playing with Duncan and Owen. Now the shift is decidedly towards training both them and me. I see that most of the training needs to be done in my own heart for sure, especially in recent months. I see that I lose my patience with them so quickly. So, I guess what I’m trying to say is I think I grew intellectually (as in head knowledge) this past year, but now the rubber is hitting the road. Now I’m having to live out what I know, and boy, is it hard! So, of course, must growth is still needed!

8.    Begin a lifestyle of recycling

We now are regular recyclers and use reusable bags when going to the grocery store.

9.    Landscape yard

Made a good start!

10.     Continue learning how to knit

Finished a scarf and made a pair of fingerless mitts. I’m now onto a making a baby gift, but can’t say what or for who!

If you’re still reading this, I’m amazed! Anyway . . .

Goals for 2009

1.    Focus on memorizing large portions of scripture. First attempt: Romans 8. I’m joining Mega Memory Month, which I found out about from Amy’s blog. I’m excited to begin this goal today!

2.    Set up design business: Finish redesign of website, print business cards, become an LLC, and start marketing myself more.

3.    Continue growing in technical and creative aspects of photography.

4.    Finish illustrating book on Amy Carmichael.

5.    Read one book on writing to grow in that area and concentrate on local and/or paying markets for freelance articles.

6.    Finish and record all songwriting projects and put on MySpace music.

8.    Finish all outstanding house projects!! At least all the ones that we can afford!

So there it is! Hello 2009!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 4:22 pm

    yay! so glad you’re joining in MMM–and such an awesome passage to be working on.

    congratulations on some great goal progress in 2008–may 2009 be an even more fruitful year for you!

  2. January 2, 2009 4:47 pm

    I’d say that was really good progress and that you seem to have your priorities straight. Motherhood takes YEARS to have much to show for it, or so it seems. It was actually THIS year that I sensed
    my work as a mom had not been in vain. (That’s not to say I hadn’t seen glimpses, but to encourage you in the dailies of training. You’re impressing me with having your toddlers sit in on things like cantatas and Christmas Eve services.) I like the diversity in your goals, too, BTW. From songwriting to fixing new foods, you go!

  3. melodyejoy permalink
    January 2, 2009 6:07 pm

    Danielle, I too am a list maker, but gave up making “resolutions.” I instead set goals (I know, I know, semantics!) in the four areas… spiritual, physical, creative, financial… Of course, that “goal” list can grow and grow, but I put more thought into each now! Enjoy your years as a mother of young’uns. They grow so quickly.

    Melodye O.

    http://www.melodyejoy.wordpress.com/

  4. January 2, 2009 6:24 pm

    You are one of the most ambitious AND talented/skilled women I know!! I’m ambitious w/out the talent/skill. 🙂 I haven’t made lists/goals/resolutions like this in a long time (oh, since kids appeard on my scene I’d say). Perhaps I’ll sit down and come up w/ my own for this year.

  5. January 2, 2009 8:27 pm

    I have a food question. Rather than ask it on my blog, I’ll ask you (I don’t know if my firend whom I’m trying to suprise w/ b’day dinner tomorrow would peek at my blog, but I know she won’t come this way.

    I am going to make Caribbean Chicken Salad (a bunch of tropical fruiet and vegs over romaine, topped with grilled chicken) , side of quartered, butter/parsley potatoes and coffee cake for dessert (We’re doing a coffee theme since Renee LOVES coffee.)

    Question is : what kind of soup? It’s going to be cold out tomorrow night. Restircitions ? No dairy , no seafood (guest of honor can’t handle them).

    Can you suggest something? Ideally something I could put in the crock pot in the a.m. and keep warm,. Serves about 8.

  6. January 2, 2009 8:27 pm

    Oh, if you come up w/ one, post it here please. I ‘ll check back later. Right now I’m going out for party stuff.

  7. January 2, 2009 9:15 pm

    Melodye, I like how you do your goals in categories like that.

    Zoanna, I’ll email you . . .

  8. January 2, 2009 11:00 pm

    Thanks for that! I like the Mega Memory Month challenge.

  9. Bethany permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:53 pm

    Great job last year. You accomplished a lot.

  10. January 5, 2009 2:16 pm

    I’m so in for hearing your voice on MySpace – do, do, do! get to that!

    Thanks for sharing! Can’t wait to see how it all comes out next year!

Trackbacks

  1. January 2009 is Mega Memory Month « Ann Kroeker

Leave a Reply

