Skip to content

The Attitude

November 17, 2008

Do you remember the story from Anne of Green Gables where Anne breaks her slate over Gilbert Blythe’s head for calling her “Carrots”? Even after he asks for forgiveness, she continues to hold a grudge against him for years because he hurt her feelings. She punishes him by snubbing him whenever she gets a chance.

Although I lack the fiery temper, I too can hold a grudge. Actually, when I was young my family would call it “an attitude.” This meant holding onto an offense I felt someone committed against me for a long time. I did not speak to my offender unless necessary. I gave them the iciest treatment possible. I was civil, but that was it.

Eventually, I outgrew this behavior to a large extent. Or so I thought.

Continue reading . . .

Do you have a problem with unforgiveness and holding grudges? What has helped you grow in this area?

(Image: http://www.ungrind.org)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2008 8:20 pm

    excellent article, danielle. i left a comment on the ungrind blog. i hope it makes it way – i had a little trouble with the letter recognition.

  2. November 17, 2008 8:21 pm

    Danielle, thanks again for writing this!

    Laurie, the comment came through. I just published it. 🙂

  3. November 18, 2008 7:09 am

    Aw, thanks Laurie! That means a lot coming from you!

  4. Holly permalink
    November 18, 2008 9:25 pm

    Wonderful reminder! I’m getting married in three months and can definitely already see my tendency for unforgiveness with my fiance at times. Thanks for writing!

  5. Rachelle permalink
    November 20, 2008 12:37 pm

    This article was timely for me…thank you for writing it and being so honest. I do tend hang on to offenses and it is ugly. God has been working on me in this area and of course that is when the biggest struggles hit.

    Rachelle

Leave a Reply

