Skip to content

How to Eat Supper

November 13, 2008

It’s no secret to my friends that I love listening to The Splendid Table podcast. I learn something new every week. So I checked out Lynne Rossetto Kasper’s new book How to Eat Supper from the library. What I’m liking the most about the book is not the recipes but the helpful information to help you learn to improvise in the kitchen. I’m not very good at that. But the book is great about helping you learn the properties of ingredients so you can wing it on your own. I also love the quotes. The book is worth a look just for the quotes. Here’s a few:

You would never know it by going to the supermarket, but children are supposed to eat the same food as their parents. -Dr. Marion Nestle

When I am talking about food I am talking about life. -Nigella Lawson

Red meat is not bad for you. now blue-green meat, that’s bad for you! -Tommy Smothers

People who eat white bread have no dreams. -Diana Vreeland

Potatoes, like wives, should never be taken for granted. -Peter Pirbright

If you’re a foody, check out this book!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. zoanna permalink
    November 13, 2008 6:40 pm

    I’d read it just for the quotes. Blue-green meat? Potaoes and wives? Funny stuff!

  2. November 13, 2008 9:33 pm

    I’m reading one called, “Dinner Diaries:Raising Whole Wheat kids in a White Bread World”. Not sure I’m enjoying it as much as I hoped I would, but I’m going to press on. I’ll try to give you a summary of it when I finish. I’m only about a third of the way through it.

  3. November 14, 2008 9:00 am

    Love those quotes! My husband would heartily agree with the potato quote–he’d eat them everyday at every meal if he could!

    (It’s a good thing we can get plenty of potatoes from Dad and Mom’s garden and I have a strong right arm for mashing!)

  4. Robin permalink
    November 14, 2008 10:05 am

    I’ll definitely check this out. Normally when I need to improvise in the kitchen with foods that don’t seem to go together, I call out “Gramma, what should I do?” and I have to say something great always comes to me!

  5. November 14, 2008 4:47 pm

    nice. I’m going to have to get this one from the library!

  6. November 15, 2008 1:45 pm

    Danielle,
    Your blog continues to provide amusement, encouragement, inspiration, and wonderful recipes. I’m thankful for you and your blog.
    Heidi

  7. November 17, 2008 4:47 pm

    Danielle,
    I enjoyed your Ungrind article…I too struggle with grudge holding…esp. against my husband. Thanks for sharing and writing a great article.
    A

Leave a Reply

