Skip to content

Mud Puddles

November 6, 2008

I try to take the boys outside almost everyday. It had been raining but stopped. They were restless and tired of being inside. It was half an hour before lunch, and I thought we could go ahead and enjoy the break in the rain. I was prepared for them getting wet: muddy shoes, having to change pants, etc. I was not prepared for Duncan falling head first into a mud puddle. (The pics a bit blurry, but hey, I was in a hurry.) He, at least, seems to have had fun! It didn’t slow him down one bit!

dsc_0001

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 12:50 pm

    what an adorable picture! Sorry you’ve had a crazy morning. I hope that the boys nap for you today 🙂 We are looking forward to Saturday night!

  2. Luke permalink
    November 6, 2008 1:23 pm

    Brilliant! That’s what childhood is all about.

  3. November 6, 2008 2:07 pm

    NICE. I’ve had SEVERAL “situations” like this one…nothing ever goes as nicely as I have mud time planned out 🙂
    HUGS!

  4. November 6, 2008 2:09 pm

    Ha ha! I know! But seriously, I love that they explore and love running around discovering things. I try not to mind if it makes things inconvenient, and I’m (possibly naively) thinking it’ll be easier when they’re older and can change their clothes themselves.

  5. November 6, 2008 2:26 pm

    IT’s so good to let them get dirty–esp. boys. Give them freedom where you can, ya know. Just keep a couple outfits for good and let the rest be play clothes at this age. It’s just too hard to keep them from messing them.

  6. November 7, 2008 6:29 am

    I so love that you take pictures of your kids during these moments instead of cleaning them up right away. What a great way to hold on to these memories!

  7. November 7, 2008 8:39 am

    Awww…I agree with Rebecca. Hats off to you for taking a picture first to capture those “spontaneous” moments, and cleaning them up later.

    I distinctly remember one annual camping weekend with my Dad’s side of the family when I was around 6 yrs. old. It poured, and I mean poured the entire weekend, we were tenting (we’re die-hard campers folks), and the adults decided it was better to let us kids play in the mud puddles to our heart’s content rather than attempt to keep us clean. Needless to say, we were covered from head to toe, but it was SO MUCH FUN!!!!!

    At what other age is that acceptable? Am I right? :oD

  8. mom permalink
    November 10, 2008 8:12 pm

    This reminds me of your first encounter with a mud puddle. Oh the fun you had before falling in. After the “fall” your puddle play became even more exhuberant. Oh the fun we had that day. So many wonderful memories of you and your siblings getting dirty. You all had so many every day clothes, or play clothes, even play coats. Remember the gulley of the ditch slide? How you all loved that. I know the boys will have so much fun because their mama knows all about it. Enjoy it too; it passes all too fast.

  9. mom permalink
    November 10, 2008 8:14 pm

    How your dad loved to come home and see you all dirty. He knew immediately you’d all had a fun day!

Leave a Reply

