Skip to content

The Little White Horse

October 20, 2008

One of my favorite fantasy books growing up was The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge. The descriptions were delicious and the story sweet and captivating as the reader follows orphan Maria to Moonacre to live with an uncle she’s never met. Doing a Google search yesterday on the title–because I couldn’t remember the name of the author–I stumbled upon a website for an upcoming movie based on the book titled: The Secret of Moonacre. I’m so excited that this story will soon be released as a film!

Have any of you ever read this book? I’d like to read more books by this author, but the libraries in my county only have this one. Have any of you read any of the adult fiction of Elizabeth Goudge and if so, what would you recommend?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Judith permalink
    October 20, 2008 7:22 pm

    ohmygosh!!! I’m so excited! I can’t wait to see it, I LOVED that book! Hahaha we can go see it together!

  2. October 20, 2008 9:06 pm

    Oh cool! Yes, it could be a really fun movie. (My review: http://libraryhospital.blogspot.com/2008/07/recently-read-reviewed.html)

  3. October 21, 2008 6:26 pm

    did you have a library post? I wanted to tell you to look for the book “click, clack, Moo” (if you aren’t already familiar) it’s really funny. I don’t know if the boys will like it quite yet, but I think you’ll like it.

    Okay, the horrors…but I have never heard of this author you mention or the book. i’ll have to look it up and give myself a break from p.d. james. maybe 🙂 .

  4. October 21, 2008 6:32 pm

    Ummm…never mind that last comment. I realized later that it was Megan’s. oops. You photog’s with your beautiful pics are keeping me ever confused.

  5. October 21, 2008 8:29 pm

    Yeah, I knew you were talking about Megan’s blog, Laurie. I take that mix-up as a complement! 🙂 But thanks for the book recommendation. I’ll have to get it the next time we go to the library.

Leave a Reply

