Skip to content

Our Weekend

October 13, 2008

This weekend sure was a busy one for us! I thought I’d share . . .

Baltimore Running Festival

Josh was on the waiting list for running the Baltimore half marathon this weekend. He’s worked so hard and we thought he didn’t make it. So he registered for the 5K. However, when he went to go pick up his information he checked one last time, and there was a spot open! So, he got to run the half marathon after all! He and our friends, Aaron, Miguel, and Cain were also running it. I went down with the boys and enjoyed the beautiful weather. I’d hoped to get pictures of Josh and the other guys crossing the finish line. I knew the times they were anticipating finishing. No luck there. First of all, it took me a half an hour to finagle my way to a spot along the finish line. Second, there were so many people crossing at once, it was really hard to find who you were looking for. I ended up not even seeing Josh finish! Oh well. We met up afterwards and I was so proud! Josh made it across in 2 hours and 2 minutes! Just two minutes over his target time!

Baby Shower

On Sunday we celebrated with Libby the forthcoming arrival of Isabel. The theme was nesting and it was a wonderful time of blessing Libby and Isabel with lots of the needed items to make Isabel’s arrival comfortable. Because I was busy running around I mainly got pictures before the event got under way. So I didn’t actually get any of Libby! πŸ™‚ But, here are some of the pictures of the details of the day:

Kate's Table

Kate's table

Food

Food

The table I decorated (thanks mom for letting me borrow the centerpiece).

The table I decorated (thanks mom for letting me borrow the centerpiece).

Punch

Punch

Office

This week I finally got my office desk repainted! It was a chipped-up disaster and as ugly as could be. I wanted to get it done once the humidity of the summer was over and before winter. Since the weather was nice this past week, I went to work stripping (ew, what a job), priming, and repainting the desk. Here’s some shots of my desk area all nice and clean and put back together. This little area is off of my kitchen and I just love it:

Josh built these shelves that are just perfect!

Josh built these shelves that are just perfect!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. bethyoung permalink
    October 13, 2008 11:15 am

    everything looks awesome πŸ™‚ Yay to Josh for finishing in great time. Also, before anyone else comments I’m glad to be the first…

    ummm….how do I say this….I’ll just quote you…

    “You went to work Stripping, eww what a job!”

    I am laughing so hard. I can imagine that it would be both gross and difficult, yes πŸ™‚

  2. October 13, 2008 11:21 am

    I knew that no matter how I said that, I’d get teased! πŸ™‚

  3. Bethany permalink
    October 13, 2008 11:24 am

    BEAUTIFUL!!! BEAUTIFUL!!!! It is all so lovely. Great shower decorating. Love your little office too.

  4. bethyoung permalink
    October 13, 2008 11:25 am

    you can count on your most mature friend to be the first!

  5. October 13, 2008 12:49 pm

    fabulous theme for a shower…
    love the office nook πŸ™‚

  6. October 13, 2008 1:01 pm

    Congratulations Josh! Way to go! We were thinking of you.

    I too love your style (decorating, organizing, event planning).

    “Stripping” LOL Good grief–don’t know how I would have said it differently myself. :o)

  7. Heidi permalink
    October 13, 2008 3:42 pm

    oh, just another thing for us to “talk” about. I ran my first half marathon last November…My youngest (I have three kids) was 1.5 years old. I finished in 2 hours 5 minutes. Way to go Josh. And I can’t wait to get back to my home in the states to decorate like you.

  8. zoanna permalink
    October 13, 2008 10:13 pm

    Kudoes to Josh! I bet you were disaappointed not to get a finish line shot, but I’m sure he was glad for your support.

    The shower decorations were just gorgeous. I loved every single table, each one different (I was at the one with wicker “eggs” and potpourri with a runner criss-crossed with ribbon. And the punch was delish! Just when you think all the shower themes have been done…God inspires another. Loved it.

    Your desk and the nook look wonderful. Neat and cozy, feminine and practical. Did you strip in front of that window?!!

  9. October 14, 2008 5:18 am

    That table was pretty, Zoanna, as they all were!

  10. October 14, 2008 9:24 am

    fun post.
    Woo-hoo Josh!
    The shower decor is too cute, so fun and different.
    LOVE the office. (Way to go Josh again!) The space is so great for a little office area. Your doing better than I am on projects Danielle! Keep it up! πŸ™‚

  11. October 17, 2008 5:52 pm

    Last weekend I hosted a shower for my friend Kristen with the same theme! She is using birds and nests as the theme for her nursery so we went with that. Too bad we don’t live closer; we could have collaborated with decorations, hee, hee! Everything looks lovely.

Leave a Reply

