Skip to content

Oatmeal Peanut Butter No-bake cookies

October 6, 2008

I have a distinct memory of being with my mom in our red and white checkerboard vinyl floored kitchen and making yummy no-bake cookies. The recipe came from some sort of learning kit my mom had gotten for me through the mail, which came with cards that had different activities on them. The recipe could indeed have been the first thing I ever made–with the help of mom, of course!

I’d forgotten about these cookies until I discovered a recent recipe in Wondertime that was very similar to the ones I’d made as a child. I made them a few days ago and discovered they were just a delicious as I remembered. My mom did some digging and gave me the original recipe to copy down. They don’t differ much, except that the original recipe calls for dry milk. The other difference is the quantity. The Wondertime version makes much more (and I found the consistency hard to form into balls). I linked above to the Wondertime recipe and below is the “original” recipe. If you have kids, it’s a great recipe to make together and form your own memories in the process!

Peanut Butter Balls

1 C. dry milk

1 C. oatmeal

1/2 C. peanut butter (I like crunchy)

1/2 C. honey

I also add a handful of raisins.

Mix everything together and roll the dough into balls. I like to roll my finished balls into coconut. Like the Wondertime recipe says, you can use other types of dry fruit or chocolate chips, but this version is my favorite. It’s that easy! Enjoy!

(Image: wondertime.com)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 3:06 pm

    yum. those look like they would a big hit with my kiddos.
    thanks for posting 🙂

  2. October 6, 2008 5:20 pm

    They look like they’d be a hit with ME! :o)

  3. October 6, 2008 6:31 pm

    They are a lot healthier than my “no bakes” which have a TON of butter and sugar in them. I may try this version instead…

  4. October 7, 2008 9:22 am

    I have got to try these–thanks for sharing!

  5. October 7, 2008 9:53 am

    oh geez…these sound so good!!! I’m going to be a beached whale soon!
    ps- I do cut my boys hair…and you know what, I just go for it. I cut it in the bath tub because it’s easier when wet and they are contained. I usually just trim the sides sort of at an angle, and the bangs I don’t bother trying to cut straight so I grab it all and bunch it up and cut away. The back I just trim as well. They both have fine hair so any mistakes are pretty noticeable but it makes them look boyish I think! 🙂

  6. October 7, 2008 2:32 pm

    oops. that was me above 🙂

  7. October 21, 2008 6:28 pm

    i just made edible playdough, which maggie loved “baking” with and the recipe was just like this but without the oatmeal.

  8. April 7, 2009 11:13 am

    I made these way back when you first posted the recipe. Recently Addie said, “Remember those peanut butter things you made that were really good?” So here I am six months later finding the recipe again. 🙂

    — SJ

Leave a Reply

