Skip to content

Puddles Taste Good

September 15, 2008
Drinking from the puddle, puppy dog style!

I don’t really mind the boys getting dirty, but today Owen went beyond that to just gross. Today we were outside playing, enjoying the beautiful day. It was was a dry day, but Owen was able to find some water that had collected (several days ago, mind you) in a fold of a tarp that’s holding a pile of mulch. He started playing in it, so I dumped it out. It collected in a puddle in the driveway, however, so that wasn’t really a helpful move on my part.

Especially considering he then started drinking out of the puddle like a little puppy dog!!! I couldn’t get him to stop! Then, of course, Duncan began trying to follow his example. After trying to get them to stop, moving them to a different part of the yard, them running back to the puddle, I decided to call it a day and go back inside!

I always said Owen reminded me of a puppy ever since he started crawling. Maybe he’s got a little puppy in him afterall . . . 🙂

sfa
9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2008 3:16 pm

    Oh my word…that is hillarious! So something my Evan would do.
    We were outside this am too, and I was cleaning Evan’s car seat out, and behold there were old crackers in there, (why do I allow my kids to eat in the car?)
    and I tossed it out into the driveway to be picked up later…my mistake…Evan went over and ate it. SO nasty!
    boys will be boys…

  2. Bethany permalink
    September 15, 2008 6:06 pm

    Hilarious!!! Boys will be boys. PS Adelee tries to drink out of the dog bowl outside. They would be great pals.

  3. September 15, 2008 7:03 pm

    They had overheard the story of Gideon choosing an army. That’s all. Just acting a part:). Okay, a gross part, but still–!

  4. September 16, 2008 3:09 am

    I love it! This is something you will never forget!

  5. September 16, 2008 9:10 am

    WHY do they like dirt? The other day, Piper was eating the potting soil out of our neighbor’s plant…

  6. bethyoung permalink
    September 18, 2008 7:08 pm

    really cute 🙂

  7. melodyejoy permalink
    September 21, 2008 6:56 pm

    Danielle, I wanted to say it was very nice meeting you and I am so, so sorry we didn’t get a chance to chat!! I think I got distracted and the next thing I knew, you were gone!! Please don’t take it personally… 🙂 Hopefully the next time I see you I won’t so easily be side-tracked!

    It is so funny to see the picture of your baby boy with dirt around his mouth. My mom has a picture of me at 3 or so and I was eating (as I regularly did, apparently) from a pile of dirt in our backyard. That picture is absolutely priceless!!

    Melodye O.

  8. September 22, 2008 10:18 pm

    Wow, I am glad I am not the only one whose kids think dirt or mud is fun to eat. What is wrong with them? Wouldn’t you think that when the grit hits their little teeth they would shiver in revulsion and run away? Nope, not my little boys. Thanks for the fun picks. Found you through Sara Jones’ blog.

  9. September 24, 2008 2:10 pm

    What fun! I agree; You will always remember the day he drank muddy water! ; – P
    (we have a mutual friend, Bethany)

Leave a Reply

