Skip to content

My Playlist

September 9, 2008

I’m always in search of interesting musical artists. Here’s what I’ve been enjoying recently.

My newest musical love is Brooke Fraser. Check out her My Space to listen to her music or her official site for more information. I just bought her newest album Albertine from iTunes yesterday and have been listening to it non-stop. The tracks I especially love are “Shadow Feet”, “Deciphering Me”, “CS Lewis Song” (which is particularly soul stirring) and “Hymn” (profoundly simple).

It’s the type of music that makes me think the more I listen to it. The storytelling and metaphors are excellent. Not to mention the music compelling, lyrics strong enough to stand alone as poetry, and Fraser’s voice is gorgeous.

Vienna Teng is another singer/songwriter that I really enjoy. You can stream her music on her website. Her songs are piano driven and I especially love “Blue Caravan” and “Harbor”.

Reilly’s newest project is excellent as well. I’ve been streaming the songs from their website recently a good bit. I’d tried listening to them before, and could never get into them, but this latest album I really like. I especially like “Limited Time” and “Beautiful You”.

As far as “worship” music goes, Sovereign Grace’s latest album, Psalms is probably their best so far. I love the vocals, the male vocals are better than those in many of the previous projects, in my opinion. I really love “You Will Never Change” (it smacks of a Mute Math vibe) and “Glorious and Mighty” soars.

So that’s what I’ve been listening to lately. How about you?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2008 7:40 am

    Just tuned in to Brooke Fraser’s myspace page to listen–LOVE IT! Just may have to download the whole album.

    Thanks Danielle! I’m working on canning batch 3 of my pears this morning and was really wanting some new music to listen to! Perfect timing.

    I’ll email you soon about Saturday.
    :o)

  2. September 10, 2008 9:01 am

    Great Recommendations.
    I LOVE the Vienna Tang!! She has a beautiful voice, I’m a sucker for piano.
    I really liked listening to Brooke Fraser too. Very beutiful lyrics!!! 🙂

  3. September 10, 2008 11:23 am

    thanks for the suggestions! this is at least the third time I’ve heard about Brooke Fraser lately so I am finally listening right now (and liking it). can’t wait to check out the others.

  4. September 10, 2008 1:35 pm

    Glad you guys liked the music! I discovered Brooke Fraser from Megan’s website. Thanks Megan!

  5. September 10, 2008 2:58 pm

    OK…I LOVE the Harbor song by Vienna Teng…just downloaded it from i-tunes! I’m addicted.

  6. September 11, 2008 4:59 am

    I, too, have been pulling up the Reilly website and running them in the background when I’m doing other stuff on my computer. Those two songs are my favorites of theirs right now…but I liked some of their earlier stuff from my college days too.

  7. Bethany permalink
    September 11, 2008 5:06 pm

    Oh I love the Harbor by Vienna Teng. I have listened to her for awhile. Haven’t heard the other gal I am gonna go check it out because I know from past discussions you and I like similar things. HEE HEE. Thanks I am going now to check it out.

  8. Bethany permalink
    September 11, 2008 5:07 pm

    Hey she is playing here tomorrow night…..it is my hubby’s bday though and soccer practice for Sethie.

  9. September 11, 2008 7:24 pm

    Great recommendations, Danielle! I am not really listening to anything new, yet…I still keep Alathea’s “My Roots Go Deeper”. They are excellent! I also love John Mayer’s “Continuum”. I really could listen to that all day. Another one that I’ve been listening to is Colbie Callat’s “Coco”. And I play Michael Buble A LOT.

Leave a Reply

