Skip to content

Seeking Him

August 28, 2008
Seeking Him

Recently I’ve been doing the devotional Seeking Him by Nancy Leigh DeMoss & Tim Grissom. It’s excellent and I highly recommend it. It’s a twelve week study that’s workbook style. One reason I really like it is that it’s not fluffy at all. Also, each day is manageable without being overwhelming, unlike some other workbook style studies I’ve done. If you’re looking for an extended Bible study, this is perfect. But be warned, there’s a lot of personal evaluation to think about, so it’s not for the faint of heart!

Have others of you out there done this study before and what did you think? What good devotionals have you used recently?

(Image from Amazon.com)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2008 8:19 am

    Ohh…I will definately be getting this one. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. August 29, 2008 12:52 pm

    I have not read this one. I’m glad you are loving it!

  3. August 29, 2008 4:20 pm

    I did this probably 5 or 6 years ago (yikes!) with a group of women from church and loved it! The “lack of fluff” does make it a pretty intense study, but I came out of it better for it.

  4. Sarah permalink
    August 29, 2008 11:26 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. I should be finishing up my John MacArthur bible study on James (one more lesson) and was looking for something to start up when I finish that. I’ll look into this one if it’s not too expensive. Thanks again!

  5. August 31, 2008 8:51 pm

    It’s a good one. I did it at the LBS at chuch a few years back, too. I am into anti-fluff. But I have to say that my all-time favorite Bible studies are by Beth Moore. They are just so personal, so full of Jesus that I feel like I’m sitting in His lap while I do my lesson (which doesn’t even feel like a “lesson” when you’re in the Teacher’s lap).

  6. September 1, 2008 7:16 am

    I like Beth Moore studies too. I think the “personal” aspect is what a lot of people like about her stuff, except that’s actually what I DON’T like about them. Don’t get me wrong, I always look forward to them and learn a lot, but usually by the end the personal aspect has gotten on my nerves, ha ha! One thing I like about “Seeking Him” is that the personality of the writers doesn’t come through! To each their own, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

