Skip to content

What’s Going On?

August 22, 2008

***Gross alert! Help! The boys are 15 months old and have been waking up each morning with soaked bedding. It started out intermittently, this week it’s been every morning. I’ve had to totally strip their beds down to the mattress. Is this normal? Doing two crib’s worth of bedding every morning is crazy to me! Not to mention trying to get other laundry done and their bedding washed, dried, and back on by their first nap! Previously, they’d have the occasional blow-out but this is insane! At first, I thought it was that they just needed to move the next diaper size up. Did that, but no change. The past two mornings have been terrible! Yesterday there was chunks of poop everywhere (I think this was helped along by the boys digging in their diapers) but today I know it wasn’t them messing around in it. Their diapers were just too full! Duncan had poop running down his leg and needed a bath before even getting out of the crib! The only other thing I know to do is start changing them again before I go to bed (around 10ish). They usually go down at 7 p.m. and get up at 7 a.m. They’re wearing Luv’s brand diapers. So now you know all the facts. Any suggestions of what to do!?!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2008 8:37 am

    Lovely! I’ve had this problem too with some of my kiddos.
    Yes, I would change them right before you put them down.
    You could also try a pack of Pampers (i think they make a ‘night time’ diaper). I know they are the most expensive out there, but it seems like they do the best job from all the many brands I’ve tried… something else that I did for a season was buy those plastic pants that are made to go over cloth diapers and put those on over top. At least then you only have to wash that out rather than all that bedding!

  2. August 22, 2008 9:12 am

    Thanks, Megan. I do, currently change them right before they go down, but should in 3 hours before I go to bed change them again as well? I’ll look into those Pampers for bedtime use. With all the time and water spent in washing, the price may be worth it if I’m just using two a night!

  3. August 22, 2008 9:21 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    I have a newly 1-year-old and was having the same problem while we were on vacation! This seems to be a problem more common with little boys. I ended up buying the Pampers nighttime diapers which were actually a little bigger than his normal diapers, and have been having luck so far. They are pricey, though, so I only use them at night. I’m crossing my fingers they keep working! I know all about changing bedding every morning and it’s not fun.

    I’ve also heard from friends that there are diaper inserts that you can buy to put in the diapers to help make them more absorbent. I wasn’t able to find them at Walmart (the only option where we were on vacation) but a specialty store like Babies ‘R’ Us might carry them.

  4. August 22, 2008 9:33 am

    We, too, had to move to overnight diapers. We used the Huggies type for a long time……generic during the day and expensive ones at night. It all equaled out.

  5. August 22, 2008 9:41 am

    oh my. yuck. bless your heart. hope you get it figured out soon! I can’t help; we mostly use cloth, and when we occasionally use disposables (generic Kroger or Target brand), they’ll usually hold 12 hours overnight. I have to change bedding once in a while, but nowhere near every night. And E doesn’t poop at night anymore. I think I would have barfed to walk in and see poop everywhere because he had been playing in it. EW. bless your heart!!

  6. Bethany permalink
    August 22, 2008 10:07 am

    Yeah go with the other suggestions and buy Pampers or Huggies you could probably try the regular first and if that doesn’t work do the night time diapers. In my experience Luvs leak a lot. With Jude I had a diaper shower and got to try every brand. You pay more for Huggies and Pampers but as long as they don’t poop a ton I think you will find you can change them less often. For me too Pampers worked better on my skinny kids and Huggies on my chubby bunny. They just fit a little different. So I have used different brands for different kids. I also tried Drypers (I think that is what they are called) they have Suzie Zoo on them….I got some of those with Jude and they worked really well and were cheap. I think Wal Mart and a grocery store in VA I use to go to had those…..Wal Mart is so far here and yucky that I don’t go so I haven’t tried those in a long time. With Seth I always used Huggies and there was a time that I had to switch to the overnights because he was wetting so much. I also do only water no juice or milk dinner on which helped my boys they would o.d. on the other and wet more. Good luck.

  7. August 22, 2008 11:25 am

    I might just have to try the Pampers overnight ones myself. We’ve had this trouble w/ our boys from the get go and still do (and they’re 4!!). We have just gotten into a habit of changing them before WE turn in for the night (some nights we do and some nights we don’t depending on how “full” their diaper feels).

    My guys dont’ poop at night, though. I would also suggest not giving them anything to eat or drink within an hour of bedtime. That can be difficult sometimes, but may help.

  8. Ashleigh permalink
    August 22, 2008 12:50 pm

    I’ve had this problem with my girls over the years. At least the leaking wetness and have soaked sheets. I double diaper them, which for the most part helps. But I also use Huggies or Pampers. Huggies seems to leak less than Pampers in my experience.

  9. Ashleigh permalink
    August 22, 2008 12:52 pm

    Oh, I know double diapering could get expensive (especially with twins), but it seems to work most of the time.

  10. Emily permalink
    August 22, 2008 1:23 pm

    Wow Danielle…that’s incredibly gross! I’m really sorry for you, and it makes me very content in my singleness:). I don’t have any kids, but I dealt with my share of “code browns” or “blowout” situations taking care of my younger siblings (they were terrors!). I would use the overnight diaper with the addition of the good ole fashioned rubber pants that were meant to be worn with the old cloth diapers. I think they were made by Gerber, but they might be hard to find. My mom used to use them all the time and they seemed to help. Good luck and I’ll be praying for you! Oh, I love the pictures:)

  11. August 23, 2008 3:29 am

    Okay… this could be a really dumb question, but has something changed in their diet over the past week or so that could have caused these “blow-outs.” It took me forever to figure out that whenever I fed my kids green grapes, that they would “explode.” Any diaper rash associated with it? Just a thought…..

    And the previous blog pictures are great! (I would have taken the picture on the piano first too!)

  12. August 23, 2008 6:50 am

    I realized I actually am using the Huggies brand because the Pampers overnights didn’t come small enough. Seem to be working great.

  13. August 23, 2008 8:59 am

    Thank you all for the suggestions! I’ll be running to Target today to get a package of overnight Pampers or Huggies (whatever I find in their size). I didn’t get a chance to get them yesterday, which meant another disastrous morning as far as bedding goes. Actually, Owen started crying around 4:45 a.m. and I went in and he’d already soaked through and had done a messy poop. Fun times . . .

    Kristin, I’ve heard that regular women’s pads work just as well as diaper inserts! 🙂 Not sure about the price comparison, but if you can’t find them, it’s worth a shot!

    Rebecca, I have been thinking about this. The wetting has been going on for a while, but the poop was new this week. I think I realized why this morning. Kidney beans. Yeah, that’ll do it. I fed them beans several days ago, actually, which may be why for 3 nights they’ve been pooping? Would it really take that long to get through their system? I guess so. I’m not sure though, as this morning everything was a different consistency and smell (so sorry for the gross details) so I’m not sure if it was all connected to the beans or not, since this was the first time there was evidence of them. But it would make sense! I’ve given them beans before and this never happened, but I’m not going to give them to them again!

    I’ll try the making sure they don’t eat/drink an hour before bedtime, but this will be hard, since they usually go to bed around 7 p.m. I could try to move dinner up I guess. Also, since stopping nursing, they really love to drink water right before bed, but I may try cutting it back.

    Thanks! I’ll let you know if tomorrow is a success! I hope so, as Josh is leading worship at church and I’ve got to get us all out o the house on my own!

  14. August 23, 2008 8:26 pm

    Sounds like you have a game plan–I’m alittle late in contributing my 2 cents.

    Anywho, I was going to offer that using a larger-sized diaper has worked for me in the past, instead of relying completely on the lb. measurements they list on the box. I’ve had the most success with Huggies in the last 3 years and I’ve tried/borrowed all kinds. I like that the Huggies have the stretchy tabs–good for my girl’s chubby thighs but skinny waist. I usually get them at BJ’s with a coupon and at times used the cheap brands during her awake hours.

    Hope you find something that works soon!

  15. Laura permalink
    August 24, 2008 12:30 am

    I wonder if the pooping-at night thing could be a lactose intollerance problem. I noticed that with my oldest son, after I weaned him at about a year old, and started giving him cow’s milk, he started having really messy diapers. I have lactose problems myself, so I stopped giving him cow’s milk. Actually, all 3 of my big kids have lactose problems. My 8 year old won’t touch milk, but my 5 year old and 2 year old will sometimes ask for cereal with milk or homemade hot chocolate. When they consume these things, they inevitably have messy-poop problems.
    They do eat cheese and yoghurt daily, which doesn’t cause much digestion trouble.
    You may want to try not giving them dairy for a day and see if it helps the poop problem at night. I hope this helps!

  16. zoanna permalink
    August 24, 2008 8:43 am

    I’m so sorry about your dilemma. It sounds like the diet may be the cause the and Pampers Overnite the solution, at least until you figure it out. Do they use pacifiers? If so, I might cut their water intake back to 1/2 cup and let them use binkies to go to sleep if sucking is what comforts them. The suddenness and the fact that it’s poopy sure does sound like a dietary intolerance of some sort.

    Praying for wisdom. I know it’s a drag trying to keep baby bedding clean and dry during trying times.

  17. zoanna permalink
    August 24, 2008 8:44 am

    Or they could both be teething. That’ll cause the Hershey Squirts.

  18. August 24, 2008 4:01 pm

    Hi guys! I tried Huggies overnights last night and today there were dry sheets, thank the Lord! No poopy either! So maybe whatever was going on is over? We’ll see. Thankful for a rest from washing their bedding though!

  19. August 25, 2008 1:05 pm

    Hey all, another dry day! Thanks for all the practical advice.

  20. August 27, 2008 3:50 pm

    Danielle

    I wonder if they had a touch of a stomach bug..with the poopy business. I would guess that before you give yourself a headache trying to figure out if there’s some dietary intolerance…that’s just a pain to try to figure out.

  21. August 27, 2008 4:17 pm

    Briana, that’s exactly what my neighbor suggested! I always should go to her first. She’s always right on! There’s been no problems since those 3 days, so I’m not bothering myself with some sort of dietary intolerance.

Leave a Reply

