Skip to content

Blueberry Bliss

July 5, 2008

Happy 4th of July, everyone!

We had a great holiday! We spent the evening of July 3rd with our friends Libby and Miguel who had a cookout and then went to the New Freedom carnival afterwards. Then, for dinner on July 4th we went to Josh’s mom’s home.

On Wednesday I went to Shaw Orchard Farm Market to pick blueberries. This orchard is just minutes from my mom’s house and has long been my favorite orchard. We love their apple cider in the fall! My mom fed the boys lunch and played with them while my sister and I went blueberry picking. I got a huge basket of blueberries and the boys have been eating them with almost every meal while I’ve been throwing them in yogurt with Grape-Nuts sprinkled on top.

For dessert to take to my mother-in-law’s, I made a Blueberry Pie I got from Michelle’s blog. I made it once last summer as well. Boy, is it fabulous! Had to share . . .

Blueberry Pie

Ingredients Needed:
– 1 package of graham crackers, crumbed
– 1/4 cup sugar
– 1/3 cup butter, melted
– 8 oz cream cheese
– 14oz can sweetened condensed milk
– 1/4 cup powdered sugar
– 3.4oz package lemon instant pudding mix
– 2 tsp grated lemon rind
– 1/2 cup lemon juice
– 1 pint blueberries
– 2 tbs blueberry preserves
– 1 cup whipping cream

1. Stir together graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and butter.

2. Press evenly in bottom and up sides of a 9-inch pie plate. Bake pie crust at 350 for 8 minutes. Cool completely.

3. Beat cheese, milk, and powdered sugar until creamy.

4. Add pudding mix, rind, and juice. Beat until blended.

5. Spread half of mixture into crust.

6. Stir together blueberries and preserves, spread evenly over lemon mixture.

7. Spread remaining lemon mixture over blueberry mixture. Cover and chill 2 hours.

8. Beat whipping cream until stiff peaks form and spread around out edge of pie forming a decorative border.

Since I was short on time I bought pre-made graham cracker crusts, baked them, and then made the filling. So easy and a great pie to make on a summer day since you don’t have to bake the pie and you serve it cold.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. picket permalink
    July 5, 2008 7:36 pm

    Dear Danielle,
    Thank you for putting up this lovely recipe. I think that I will take the time to make it for a special occasion. Not far from me is a blueberry farm that produces organic blueberries at very reasonable price. Next door is a lovely home-made icecream producer and I am sure that they use these blueberries too.
    One thing that I do is make my own ice-cream, which of course does not have any nasties.
    Keep your wonderful recipes coming

  2. Sarah permalink
    July 6, 2008 10:50 pm

    Whoa! I went to Shaw Orchards to pick blueberries on Wednesday, too! (Too bad we didn’t see you). It was my first time ever going berry picking and it was so much fun–and the berries were delicious. I loved it! I went with the Gayner’s and Mrs. Kelly showed me how to make blueberry jam. We have some more so I just may give that pie a try.

  3. July 7, 2008 9:10 am

    This looks yummy. I think I will make it this week. Thanks for sharing!!!

  4. July 7, 2008 9:26 am

    Sarah, what a coincidence!

  5. Sarah permalink
    July 7, 2008 9:38 pm

    Made this tonight and it was yummy! It’s a winner with the family and we’ll be making it again in the future, I’m sure. Thanks for the recipe.

  6. July 8, 2008 2:30 pm

    Wow…that pie says YUM all over it!

    We have a blueberry story. Apparently they make “some kids” (who will remain nameless) SUPER constipated…glad your boys aren’t among them!

  7. July 8, 2008 3:18 pm

    Krista, we’ve got a blueberry story too. No problems THIS year, but last year I ate a lot of blueberries when they were in season and I had a day of horror on day last July with both boys crying ALL DAY due to gas and I’d assume, yes, constipation. It was horrible. Owen was the worst. I couldn’t figure it out for a while then I did some research on blueberries online and discovered they’re a very gassy fruit. Didn’t eat them again while nursing, that was for sure!!

  8. July 11, 2008 8:25 am

    I think the chicken dish originated at the beach!!! I posted the recipe, because we’re heading to the beach in a few hours! =)

Leave a Reply

