Skip to content

Good-bye, Tasha Tudor

June 25, 2008

I just found out that Tasha Tudor died on June 18th at the age of 92. Tasha Tudor is one of my favorite illustrators. When I was growing up, her delicate and detailed watercolors captured my imagination and I’d spend hours copying her work. Going back over my many sketchbooks, her influence is everywhere.

My favorite books that she illustrated are The Secret Garden, A Little Princess, A Time to Keep and A Brighter Garden. They are definitely keepsakes in my library and highly recommend them. If you’re interested, a wonderful biography written by her daughter is Drawn From New England: Tasha Tudor. For a brief biography you can visit her memorial website. Or check out her official website.

Good-bye, Tasha Tudor.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2008 10:02 am

    I never knew her books. I was most fascinated with her life and the way she lived as if it were the 19th century.

  2. June 26, 2008 4:19 pm

    I too loved Tasha Tudor’s work. The Secret Garden and The Little Princess were two of my favorites. I would read and read them over and over again. Her artwork is beautiful.

  3. mom permalink
    July 2, 2008 6:32 pm

    You’ve just gone home and I jumped on my e-mail then your blog since it’s been so long since I’ve had internet. Big mistake. I’ve spent way too long reading this as well as getting on the Tasha Tudor memorial and web. I never knew about the web page. There is so much out there I seem to know nothing about!! I’ve had a blast however, and have a whole bunch of wish list items from the store. This is sort of my vacation afterall. Enjoyed having you home today, can’t explain it, just fills a part of me that is so empty. Love you girl, thanks for the nice day, enjoyed my little boys too. It’s nice to have the little arms hug me, I miss hugs.

  4. September 10, 2008 10:24 pm

    I was with some friends today and we were talking about Tasha Tudor. We are traditional rug hookers and we were talking about her folk art. We were also talking about “Stillwaters” How wonderful a life she had. I am going to try to learn as much as I can about this marvelous woman………….

Leave a Reply

