Skip to content

Grilled Delights

June 18, 2008

I love to grill! Everything just tastes so much better when grilled. Meats, vegetables, and fruits all have flavors you’ve never dreamed of when cooked on a grill. So I thought I’d share some recent recipes with you that we’ve used to create some sumptuous meals.

First up, Rachael Ray’s Honey-and-Lemon Marinade. This deliciously easy and all-purpose marinade tastes great on chicken, salmon, and pork chops. Last week we used it on salmon and it was to die for!

Last night I made ribs for the first time. I’ve been craving ribs ever since our neighbor has been grilling them and decided I must try them out. I put a rub on the ribs, which I got from here, and let it sit overnight. I was a little nervous about the whole deal. First of all, Josh usually mans our charcoal grill and the last time I tried my hand at it I couldn’t get it started. However, this time I got it up and running with ease.

However, when I put the meat on it caught on fire!! Yes, flames were hungrily lapping at the meat and I quickly pulled it off. It was slightly charred, but thankfully it was the bone side, not the meat side that was facing the flame. Tried again, but caught on fire. I didn’t think the coals were too high to the rack, so wasn’t sure what to do. Ran over to our neighbor, who is now home because he’s been laid off from his construction job. He’s the grill master of all grill masters. He came over and helped me set up the grill in a different way so that the meat got indirect heat (the recipe did not explain all of this!). So, we put the meat on and this time, no flames! It grilled for about three hours and then I basted it with a recipe I found here.

Ohmygoodness! So good! Let me tell you we tore into those ribs like you wouldn’t believe. Eaten with a side of fresh sweet corn and cantaloupe with blueberries, it was a perfect summer dinner!

What are your favorite grill recipes? Want to share? Fill up my comment box!

Image from http://www.dominomag.com

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2008 7:13 am

    sounds delicious! we are firing up our grill tonight for the first time this season…late start, I know. I can’t wait to try those ribs some time.

  2. anne permalink
    June 18, 2008 10:00 am

    Oh I have lots of fav. A few weekends ago though, and one of my husbands favs. was beer brats.

    Super simple and quite tasty.

    4-6 cans of cheap beer
    a tad bit-o- h20
    a medium onion sliced.

    Simmer in pot for 1-2 hours…do not boil.

    drain.
    cook brats and onions on grill for a short time…

    I heart grilling. I will have to think of some more and something other than beer brats 🙂

  3. June 18, 2008 10:10 am

    Mmm, we had brats on father’s day with grilled peppers & onions to put on top. They were good, but I’ve never tried simmering them like this before. I think we’ll have to give it a try!

  4. June 18, 2008 11:51 am

    Your dinner last night sounds A LOT better than ours (mashed turnips, brocolli and mac-n-cheese). 🙂

  5. zoanna permalink
    June 18, 2008 11:02 pm

    Danielle, I’m confused. Did you use the Honey Lemon marinade also on these ribs, or a different recipe. I’ve never made ribs on the grill and actually have never been wild about them (lotta work for little meat) except once at a restaurant they were out of this world good and meaty. If I have a recipe that screams delish, I’ll give it a whirl.

  6. zoanna permalink
    June 18, 2008 11:05 pm

    BTW, I was watching a grilling show (Bobby Flay, maybe?) a while back and they said one of the tricks for making the food taste good is to sprinkle about a teaspoon of the marinade or seasonings on the coals. That way the flavor smokes into the underside of the meat as well as into the veggies if you have them on, too.

  7. June 19, 2008 3:45 am

    Steak… hands-down! Ethan is an expert on the grill. We haven’t been grilling much in England… the weather just isn’t summer-like a whole lot. But, when we visit the states next week, I hope we grill everyday! I need a summer!!!

  8. June 19, 2008 6:34 am

    No, I didn’t use the Honey Lemon marinade on the ribs. First I put a rub on them and let them sit over night (the link’s on the post) and then I basted it with a sauce close to the end of grilling which I got from Domino magazine (also linked).

    Interesting tidbit about sprinkling season on the coals!

  9. Josh permalink
    June 19, 2008 2:41 pm

    I would like to add that anything my wife cooks is delish, especially on the grill. She usually thanks me for doing such a good job of tending the coals, but we all know the secret’s in the quality of the meat and the marinade. The only grill trick I know is how NOT to catch the meat on fire…but that’s a secret!

  10. Rhonda permalink
    July 24, 2008 2:30 pm

    so, I don’t understand… what are the instructions to setting the grill up in a different way?

    The top level? and for 3 hours, really? For sure I would think my ribs would burn to nothing.

    Thanks for any insite.

Trackbacks

  1. A Beginner’s Guide to the Barbecue | Free Complete Recipe Collection

Leave a Reply

