Skip to content

Doing Good

June 11, 2008

Yesterday felt like a day from Hell–literally, considering the heat.

Owen had gotten a fever Friday night that had inaugurated a cold and was still feeling under the weather and had a runny nose. I also had the same cold and felt especially bad Saturday and Sunday, however was doing better. Duncan had spiked a fever during Monday night and had slept badly (and thus so did I). Thankfully we’d put in the window unit air conditioner, so at least their room was a cool sanctuary from the heat of the night. His fever had not abated by morning and was feeling very bad Tuesday morning. Duncan is a little trooper, and for him to by crying unless I was holding him meant that he really did not feel well.

By 9 a.m. I was looking at my watch with two crying boys at my feet, wondering how I was going to get through the day. Thankfully, naptime was soon.

I put them down early and they seemed to go right to sleep. Good, just what their little sick bodies needed. I hoped to get a moment to regroup, eat breakfast, do my devotions. It was not to be. Thirty minutes later they were both awake crying, if Owen had ever fallen asleep, I don’t know. He was coughing a lot and I think it woke up Duncan.

And so the day wore on. Nap number two went no better. We were supposed to go to my mom’s for a celebration of my sister’s birthday, so I decided to go up early, because I couldn’t bear dealing with them alone any longer. I also hoped the drive would put them to sleep. It did Owen, but poor little Duncan was restless and crying off and on.

Once at my mom’s the day went on much as it had. They really only wanted me to hold them. Duncan barely would eat solids. But at least we were able to enjoy my sister’s birthday and at last Duncan fell asleep while I held him and was laid in a quiet room to sleep while a terrific thunderstorm blew out the oppressive heat and humidity, and Owen got a second wind.

I was able to read Ephesians 2 yesterday, and was struck by verse 10 which says, “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

During various moments of the day I was reminded that “doing good” meant comforting Duncan and helping him feel my love and care as his fever came and went. There were lots of other things I needed and had wanted to get done the past two days. I’d actually set those two days aside to focus on an article due on Friday and proof photos from a photo shoot I’d done on Saturday. I’m behind on those tasks and relying on God give wisdom as to how to accomplish them. But I’m thankful for spiritual growth I’ve experienced to find peace in my circumstances yesterday. The reason I found peace was because I knew exactly the good works that God had prepared in advance for me to accomplish for that day. That was to care and hold my sick little boy. And I could rest in the fact I was doing exactly the good work I needed to do.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2008 12:30 pm

    That is excellent, Danielle. I love when God uses His word to bring peace and simplicity to our lives and to quiet our sometimes tumultuous hearts.

  2. bethyoung permalink
    June 11, 2008 2:13 pm

    aww, first of all I am so glad to know that you all are feeling better.

    You are a trooper. And yes I know it’s God’s grace, but I can still say that you are a trooper. 🙂

    We are looking forward to Friday, my lovely friend!

  3. zoanna permalink
    June 11, 2008 3:15 pm

    Danielle, I was just thinking the other day that I don’t think I’ve ever heard you complain about your responsibilities as a mother. Not to say you haven’t thought them, but I admire your self-control and your generally positive outlook about raising twins.

    REading your post reminds to post what I’ve been meaning to post, so off I go! I really wish I’d know you were in distress Tuesday morning. I would like to have helped.

  4. June 12, 2008 10:08 am

    Well, Zoanna, I wish I could say my not complaining was evidence of super spiritual growth, but it’s probably more due to pride and my love of stoicism! I’m a glass half-full kind of girl who has a stoic and competitive spirit. I like to do things by myself. Give me a challenge and I’ll overcome it. Showing emotions = weakness. That’s my natural mindset. Some of the fruit of those things are good and some not so good. It obviously leads to pride, self-righteousness, and self-sufficiency.

    I do seek to genuinely not complain, however, and as I’ve blogged before, the area I’m tested in is not so much with my kids but with my house and order vs. disorder. Ask Josh, I’ve been complaining about our bedroom not getting done now for weeks!! I want to get it done, NOW! That’s where I start complaining . . .

Leave a Reply

