Skip to content

Recent Reads

June 3, 2008

I’ve been reading lots of non-fiction lately, and thought I’d share my most recent reads with you.

The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

Recommended by Libby, this was one of the best non-fiction books I’ve ever read! Superb storytelling that keeps one spellbound. The author juxtaposes the building of the Chicago World Fair (“The White City”), which demonstrated man’s finest achievements up to that point in art and science against the story of a murderer who used the fair to lure his victims. The various architects I learned about in American Art class in college came to life in this interesting narrative.

Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin

An interesting story about climber Greg Mortenson who ended up in the unlikely role of building schools in middle eastern countries. It’s a well written story that was at times engaging and frustrating. The beginning and ending of the book were interesting, but it lost momentum in the middle. Also, picking up the book between chapters was hard. Although each chapter was interesting in and of itself, but the author, in my opinion, didn’t build interest to keep you wanting to read the next chapter.

When Sinners Say “I Do” By Dave Harvey and Love That Lasts by Gary and Betsy Ricucci

A book about building a marriage based on a biblical foundation, this book was excellent. Much better than the marriage book I read last year, Love That Lasts. In that book the bad writing got in the way of the content. It did have a good chapter on communication and excellent questions to go through, however, the negative aspects were the excessive use of “Sovereign Grace cliche” phrases and when the perspective would shift between the male and female authors it could get annoying and confusing. Thankfully, this book had none of that. The writing was fresh and the illustrations used were interesting and helpful. If you had to choose between the two, I recommend When Sinners Say “I Do”.

I am now ready for some good fiction. I think I’ll try Cover Her Face by P. D. James. Any other good fiction recommendations? I love classics and (well written) historical fiction best. What are your summer reads?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2008 12:29 pm

    i am reading John Adams by David McCullough. I thoroughly enjoy his writing style and the depth of research that he obviously did before attempting this work. While I have not finished this book yet, I would highly reccomend it. happy reading!

  2. Melanie permalink
    June 4, 2008 2:13 pm

    Karen- I LOVED John Adams by David McCullough…I walked away with such a respect for this founder of our country, and even more for his wife….!!!!

    Danielle – Yeah…after pre-marital, you couldn’t get me to touch the Ricucci’s book. But Dave Harvey’s…that’s a different story. The lecture the book was basted on or came from or what ever..was AMAZING. It’s totally on my list.

  3. June 10, 2008 11:37 am

    Our church is reading “When Sinner’s Say I Do” in our care groups this summer. We have our first discussion tomorrow night. I started it a few weeks ago and have really enjoyed it. I can definately “hear” Dave’s voice in his manner of writing. An excellent book so far in my opinion.

Trackbacks

  1. Reads from 2008 « Dance by the Light

Leave a Reply

