Skip to content

Nigella Lawson’s Breakfast Bars

May 20, 2008

So easy to make, and healthy, minus the condensed milk! I’m sure you could get creative with the nuts and dried fruit to make other combinations of bars too. They are delicious!

1 14-fl-oz can condensed milk

2 1/2 cups rolled oats (not instant)

1 cup shredded coconut

1 cup dried cranberries

1 cup mixed seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, sesame)

1 cup natural unsalted peanuts

1. Preheat the oven to 250 degrees and oil a 9- x 13-inch baking pan or just use a disposable aluminum foil one.

2. Warm the condensed milk in a large pan.

3. Meanwhile, mix all the other ingredients together and add the warmed condensed milk, using a rubber spatula to fold and distribute.

4. Spread the mixture into the oiled or foil pan and press down with a spatula or, better still, your hands (wearing those disposable latex CSI gloves to stop you from sticking) to make the surface even.

5. Bake for 1 hour, remove, and after about 15 minutes, cut into four across and four down, to make 16 chunky bars. Let cool completely.

Makes 16

Excerpted from Nigella Express by Nigella Lawson. Copyright (c) 2007 Nigella Lawson.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2008 6:02 pm

    To make them uber-healthy, you could go to Trader Joe’s and buy the non-sweetened coconut AND non-sweetened cranberries!

  2. May 20, 2008 6:39 pm

    I’d like to get to Trader Joe’s! It’s been on my list of places to go for sometime now! If I could just get there . . . I wish they’d build one near by.

  3. June 14, 2008 4:57 pm

    WOW these sound awesome. And the TJs in my area don’t have unsweetened cranberries! I have found them at Whole Foods, but it’s too far from my house.

    I don’t know what I would do if TJs wasn’t near me. I go there at least once a week…I love that place!

    Glad to have found your blog. Looking forward to making these this weekend!

  4. Teresa permalink
    May 19, 2009 9:05 pm

    I just love these healthy breakfast bars…My 12 year old daughter, who detests eating breakfast, gobbles these up. At last, something for picky breakfast eaters! I used organic sweetened condensed milk and unsweetened coconut as well!

  5. sandra sydnor-bousso permalink
    January 9, 2010 5:00 pm

    I make these bars routinely and have never had peanuts or seeds on hand so I substitute with other dried fruits, almonds, etc. Heard Nigella on NPR and became an instant fan (how to eat, vs. how to cook-love that title).

    To reduce the fat I use fat-free condensed milk. I like to cook them a little longer than an hour to make them a little crisp (30-45 minutes additional cook time works about right)!

    To aid in clean-up I’ve used an aluminum pan (disposable) as well but probably won’t anymore to reduce my carbon footprint.

    Grat for a healthy breakfast and/or snack on the go!

  6. October 31, 2010 10:00 am

    breakfast bars are the best stuff that can give you energy in the morning”

Trackbacks

  1. Homemade Granola bars « Dancing by the Light

Leave a Reply

