Skip to content

Maps: Finding Our Place in the World

May 18, 2008

GlobeLooking for a final field trip to end the school year? For all you local folks who read this blog, may I suggest The Walters Art Museum’s Maps: Finding Our Place in the World exhibition? It will be over June 8th, so hurry if you want to see some once-in-a-lifetime objects! This is the last show I worked on designing before leaving The Walters, and I went to see it and visit my co-workers on Thursday of last week.

First, the show is so awesome! It was great to see pieces in real life that I’d only seen pictures of: John Smith’s map of Virginia, Leonardo da Vinci’s maps of Italy, giant globes that are as tall as I am, and maps by George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln. For those of you who are book lovers out there, it was cool to see Tolkien’s hand drawn map of Middle Earth, the map of Oz, and Winnie-the-Pooh’s forest.

Check it out!

It was also wonderful to see my co-workers and go out to lunch with

Duncan at The Walters\' gift shop

some of them. The boys did great and it felt like old times, except that I had babies with me! I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since I’ve worked there! It felt as if I could just walk up to my office and start working, like no time had passed. Yet a whole year of experience has passed by and changed my life. It’s a rather surreal experience.

Top Image: http://www.thewalters.org

Right Image: Duncan in The Walters’ gift shop

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2008 6:39 pm

    Thanks for the heads up! I might just have to bring the family out for a family field trip.

  2. May 18, 2008 11:00 pm

    Oh, I wish I did live near you to go take the kids to see it!

  3. anne permalink
    May 20, 2008 9:36 am

    I wish I could go too! It sounds really intersting, and since it is the last show you worked on I would love to see it for that reason as well.

  4. Annie permalink
    May 29, 2008 11:06 am

    We loved seeing you and the boys, Danielle! I had so much fun with Duncan at the lunch table that I can’t wait for Alexander to start eating real food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

