Skip to content

For Your Listening Pleasure

April 6, 2008

I have only recently gotten into podcasts. I’m discovering they are full of information and a lot of fun. Here are some of my favorites.

For the Foody:

The Splendid Table

Hosted by Lynne Rossetto Kasper, who has the most fabulous radio voice, this podcast is a probably my favorite right now. A food variety show that includes restaurant reviews, call-ins from listeners, and food essays, it’s always interesting. The last podcast I listened to featured the author of a new book that discusses Thomas Jefferson as a wine connoisseur. Fascinating stuff.

For the Storyteller:

A Prairie Home Companion

Saturday night was “pizza night” at my house growing up. We’d make homemade pizza and tune into Garrison Keillor’s A Prairie Home Companion. For my birthday several years ago we went to a live taping of the show. We hope to continue the tradition with our family. Last night we tuned into the show via WYPR‘s online streaming of the show. However, if you missed it, or don’t have a local station that plays it, you can always check out the podcast. The only downfall is the podcast is only Keillor’s monologues. Due to copyright issues the first half of the show with the musical guests and skits is not part of the podcast.

For the Grammarian:

Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing

The podcasts are short and to the point. I love the fact that I can easily brush up on how to use lay vs. lie while washing dishes. The podcasts are full of great tricks to remembering grammar rules.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2008 5:18 pm

    I gotta check this out. I mean I have to check this out! If you figure out how to lay or lie while doing dishes, give me a holler! 🙂

  2. Robin permalink
    April 7, 2008 1:09 pm

    I forgot to tell you on Friday that Joyce Meyer and Alistair Begg, Truth for Life sermons also have podcasts that are free.

  3. April 7, 2008 1:14 pm

    I love Alistair Begg! I should check out his podcasts . . . I forgot to put that Nancy Leigh DeMoss has a podcast too called “Revive Our Hearts.” It’s excellent. She’s been going through messages on the Lord’s Prayer. I listen to some other podcasts too, but most regularly I listen to the ones I blogged about and then “Revive Our Hearts.”

  4. April 7, 2008 3:28 pm

    Early in our marriage when Pete and I were powering through those first years of teaching and finishing a degree, we’d often tune into A Prairie Home Commpanion on Sunday nights. By 8 pm our brains were tired, so we’d just sit back and relax. Those were also our pre-TV days.

    Pete’s once again in the thick of it school-wise, but I’m glad that, for the most part, our Sundays are much less intense–more about rest. 🙂

    Powder milk biscuits, anyone? (I also think the ketchup commercials are funny!)

  5. April 7, 2008 3:29 pm

    These sound really good! Thanks for sharing…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  6. April 8, 2008 2:04 pm

    OK, I’m going to have to check out the Grammar Girl one. I need all the help I can get at times!

Leave a Reply

