Skip to content

The Adventures of Duncan & Owen

February 15, 2008

Owen’s First Stand

Wednesday night Owen stood up for the first time by himself. Doesn’t he look so proud? We all hooted and hollered and clapped. He’s been pulling himself up to his knees for a couple of weeks now. Plus he’s army crawling like crazy. He’s discovered that he likes to chase the cat and try to drink out of the cat water, ew. It is hard to keep track of this little guy when he is on the floor.

Duncan & Owen Standing in crib

Duncan is right behind Owen. He too pulls himself onto his knees and is crawling. He’s not quite the adventurer, more content to get deeply involved with toys over roaming right now. He was always my little independent one, but they’ve switched personalities, it seems, and Duncan is now my clingy little Mama’s Boy. In the past two weeks their development has just skyrocketed. They’ve moved to taking two naps now: one morning one and a two hour afternoon.

The most precious thing is when they giggle together. They were under the coffee table today giggling away at each other. Many new challenges await me. I’m going to have to start teaching them what they can and can’t touch. Also, when going down for their morning nap, for the first time they started interacting with each other across the room. Usually they go right to sleep, but I again heard much giggling and Owen decided it was much more to stand in the crib and Duncan was laughing at him. They are growing up so fast! I often think I don’t know what I’d do without these guys. They are my little buddies.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2008 4:31 pm

    They are so cute! When Evan was little and needed training on what to touch and not touch I purposely left out some things that I didn’t really care about but could be used to teach him. I remember having a basket of magazines that he was especially drawn towards. He would get a little swat on the hand if he touched them and I would redirect him toward his books. It served me later when we went to go visit other people’s houses. He knew not to touch the magazines (and more importantly not tear them up!).

    I also read afterward that it’s helpful to work on just one room at a time. In other words, be really intentional and hang around them for a bit daily in a specific room that has some things that are off limits. Be right there to teach them what is ok and what is not ok to touch. Have another room that is more “baby proof” so they are learning just one room at a time. I thought that make a lot of sense.

    You’re doing such a great job with these little guys. It’s fun to watch even though I’ve never met you in person.

  2. February 15, 2008 6:02 pm

    How fun! I love the look of delight on Owen’s face in the first photo.

    Did you/do you ever have trouble telling them apart? I always imagined with twins you’d have to mark them or something at first so you didn’t get them forever mixed up! I suppose now you know them well enough that you don’t have any problems, but was it hard at first?

  3. briana permalink
    February 15, 2008 7:34 pm

    I call mine “my little buddies”, too. The adventures are just beginning for all of you!! 🙂

  4. February 15, 2008 11:12 pm

    Danielle, they are sooooo cute!!! I can’t believe what big boys they are. I always loved when my boys babbled back and forth together during the pre-real-word phase. too cute. Less cute when they form words and you just want them to go to sleep, but for now…just adorable!

  5. anne permalink
    February 16, 2008 11:21 am

    Aw Danielle your boys are SO sweet. They are growing up so fast. 🙂

    Recently we put Maxwell and Evan in the same room, and the first few nights they would giggle and laugh and goof off for hours. We usually put Evan down before Maxwell but the first few nights we put them down together.

    Having boys is fun, isn’t it!?!!!

  6. Bethany permalink
    February 16, 2008 1:33 pm

    That is so cute. Giggling while going down for a nap. They are adorable Danielle. It is CRAZY when they start moving. I cannot imagine having two to chase after. You are going to be very busy. Isn’t it fun though experiencing life through them. So sweet the second time around.

    Great pics

  7. February 16, 2008 2:09 pm

    Christina, great idea on just focusing on one room at a time.

    Amy, I don’t have a problem telling them apart at all now, but the first few days were hard. We kept their little hospital bracelets on for the first week until we were comfortable taking them off. Some of the early baby pictures from the hospital, I have no idea who they are. We just have to guess! I’m doing their baby scrapbooks now and there’s some pictures I’m just putting in both books and saying, this picture is of one of you, I have no idea who! 🙂

    Yes, things have gotten a bit crazy. They’ve discovered cat food, the trash can, magazines, etc.

  8. zoanna permalink
    February 17, 2008 5:58 pm

    Great expressions. What achievements! Hey, I hope you guys have a videocamera to capture some of these giggles and army crawling. The baby laughs change so fast to more grown up ones. There’s nothing like it. Completely contagious. IF you need a videocamera, you can borrow ours to shoot random stuff for a week or two. I’d hate for you to miss it.

  9. February 18, 2008 7:35 pm

    They are going to have the cutest baby albums! You take such great pictures that really capture them well!

Leave a Reply

