Skip to content

Chocolate Espresso Cake with Caffe Latte Cream

February 10, 2008
Last night we had some friends over for dinner, and I took the opportunity to make a cake I’ve been drooling over for quite a while. As you would know from reading this blog for any length of time, chocolate and coffee are two of my passions, and together they make a delicious combo. So I made the Chocolate Espresso Cake with Caffe Latte Cream from Nigella Lawson’s Feast book. Nigella never fails me when it comes to making a decadent dessert, and she didn’t this time either. The cake was easy to make and was fudgy and rich. The cream was amazing. Definitely recommended for you next dinner party. Or Valentine’s Day.
For the cake:
5 oz. bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped (I used Baker’s unsweetened)
1 stick, plus 3 TBS. butter
6 eggs
1 1/4 c. superfine sugar
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1/2 c. all-purpose flour
5 tsp. instant espresso powder (I used instant coffee granduals)
1/4 c./4 TBS. Tia Maria or other coffee liqueur (I used Bailey’s Irish Cream)

For the Caffe Latte Cream:

3 oz. white choclate, broken into small pieces
1 1/2 c. heavy cream
scant 2 tsp. instant espresso powder

Take anything you need out of the fridge to bring to room temperature. The only truly important thing, however, is that the eggs aren’t cold, so if they are, just put them into a bowl and cover them with warm water for 10 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350º F. Butter and line a 9 inch springform pan.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a microwave or double boiler and set aside to cool slightly. Beat the eggs, sugar and vanilla together until thick, pale and moussey. They should have at least doubled in volume, even tripled. If you’re using a standing mixer, as I do, this is effortless.

Gently fold in the flour and espresso powder, taking care not to lose the air you have created, and finally add the melted chocolate and butter, folding gently again. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes, by which time the top of the cake should be firm, and the underneath still a bit gooey. Immediately pour over the Tia Maria and then let the cake cool completely on a rack before releasing it from the pan.

For the cream, melt the white chocolate either in a microwave or double boiler, and let it cool. Fold in the cream and espresso powder, whipping the latte cream together to thicken it a little. For some reason the white chocolate seems to make the cream instantly thicker; if I whisk the cream first it can seize a little when it’s stirred into the chocolate.Sit the sprung cake on a plate and fill the middle sunken crate with the caffe latte cream and dust with a little cocoa, or just put the buff-colored cream in a bowl with a spoon, to serve alongside the cake, dusting or not with cocoa or, indeed, instant espresso powder or a mixture of both, as you wish.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashleigh permalink
    February 10, 2008 11:43 pm

    Sounds yummy!

  2. February 10, 2008 11:54 pm

    Ooh, This sounds really good!

  3. February 11, 2008 12:42 am

    Did you use decaf coffee or were you up all night? 🙂

  4. February 11, 2008 6:38 am

    No, didn’t use decaf, I didn’t have any. Caffeine doesn’t really do anything to me though. I drink a caffeinated drink and then go to sleep! I’ve wished sometimes it did, especially when I was in college! I was up a good bit of the night though, for another reason. Josh got a fever and tossed and turned the entire night. 😦

  5. February 11, 2008 8:52 am

    This sounds yummy…I am sorry Josh is sick. I know it is going around. I will pray he is better quickly and keeps it to himself…LOL

  6. briana permalink
    February 11, 2008 9:15 am

    Sounds great, but too much work for me right now.

  7. February 11, 2008 11:12 am

    oh my. YUM. will have to print and save this. *drooling*

  8. Bethany permalink
    February 12, 2008 4:32 pm

    Oh my. Dangerous. I am so going to have to make this.

Leave a Reply

