Skip to content

Thankful

February 2, 2008

I’m so thankful to have tons of laundry to do today. That’s because my washer is FIXED! A load is washing right now. I’m also very thankful for warranties, because the part was $500! We’d have just bought a new washer for that. I’m also thankful for the Laundromat just two seconds away from my house, Zoanna, who so kindly came and took home two loads to wash and bring back to me nicely folded, and my mom, who also did two loads for me. But I’m even happier to be doing my own loads right now.

On another note, I’ve been busy cracking open some cookbooks I own and never use to find some delicious recipes. This was one of my New Year’s Resolution. So far we’ve had delicious Shrimp Risotto with Sweet Peas and Leeks from Alfred Portale Simple Pleasures, a most savory Chicken Stew with Biscuits from Barefoot Contessa Family Style, and last night a very good marinade for pork chops from Honey: A Book of Recipes. Very simple. Here it is:

1 Cup orange juice

3 TB olive oil

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 tsp. cumin

1 TB coarsely ground black pepper

8 pork loin chips, about 3/4 in. thick, well trimmed

In a small bowl, combine the orange juice, oil, garlic, cumin and pepper. Stir to mix. Arrange the pork chops in a shallow dish large enough to hold them all in a singer layer. Pour the on the orange juice mixture and turn to coat.. Cover and let stand for at least 1 hour, or refrigerate overnight.

Lift the pork chops out of the marinade and pat them dry with paper towels. (I didn’t do this.)

Heat a ridged grill pan. When hot, add the pork chops and cook for 5 minutes, until browned. Turn and cook the other side for 10 minutes or more, until cooked through. Serve immediately.

I made mashed potatoes and a green salad. Yum. Thankful for good food, too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2008 10:46 am

    It must be the day to be thankful for laundry! I just posted about that too.

  2. February 2, 2008 11:02 am

    YAY!! I am so glad that your washer is fixed and that it was under warranty. while it is awesome that people did loads for you, it is so much nicer to be able to do your own at home.

    btw the recipe sounds delish 🙂

  3. anne permalink
    February 2, 2008 1:30 pm

    Hooray for the fixed washer…so nice to have that back I am sure.
    UM and YUM!

  4. February 3, 2008 4:42 pm

    Glad to hear your good news about the washer. I still wouldn’t mind doing laundry for you again for the joy of folding baby clothes! It’s been soooo long since ours were that little.

Leave a Reply

