Skip to content

Suds in a Bucket

January 22, 2008

If my washing machine doesn’t get fixed soon, I’m going to be doing my laundry the old-fashioned way. It’s been a week now, since it broke down. It took a week for the Sears repair guy to even look at it. The bad thing is that a load of laundry was stuck inside, since we have a front loading washer, it locked down, so I couldn’t even get it opened.

When I called the phone number to request a repair visit, they tried to get the washer unlocked by walking me through various things. But no luck. I talked to two different Sears representatives, and they both were like, “huh, that doesn’t usually happen.” So, I was mentally preparing myself to not get it fixed today. I was right. They had to order parts and they’ll be back to fix it February 1st. Apparently the control panel (i.e. computer) needs to be replaced. They think it was due to a power surge, so we need to get a surge protector on that outlet.

So, I’m becoming fully aware, again, of how much I love my washer. I remember when living in our apartment (or in college) the pain of having to use communal washing and drying machines and have the appropriate quarters available. One of my favorite things about moving into this house was being able to do laundry in my own machines. But, for now I’m taking trips to the laundromat. Thankfully, it’s basically across the street. So, I can go do all my washing simultaneously and then drag it home and dry it. I’m really thankful for that, and being reminded how blessed I am to own my very own washer and dryer (that are under warranty!). So many people don’t have the luxury.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2008 6:28 pm

    OH, Danielle, I wish I’d known sooner. One of the weird things about me is that I LOVE to do laundry. Not that I’m always caught up, but I have just never minded it at all.

    PLEASE, Please, will you LET me come pick up some loads for you, do them up and return them? It’s been sooo long since I even handled baby clothes.
    I’m sure I wouldn’t fold them just like you do, but it would be my JOY to help you out this way. February 1st sounds SO far away, doesn’t it, at the rate babies spit up and pee up things? Please call me!

  2. anne permalink
    January 22, 2008 9:11 pm

    It is such a belssing to have a washer and dryer…something I know I have taken for granted. At our first place we had a quarter washer/dryer situation and I hated lugging huge baskets up and down stairs.

  3. anne permalink
    January 22, 2008 9:11 pm

    ps- Let Zo do some! I would do some too if I lived closer! Laundry is one of those chores I don’t mind either.

  4. Kjirstin permalink
    January 24, 2008 10:37 am

    Oh no! So sorry to hear 😦 I remember that being one of my favorite parts as well when we moved into this house – not having to lug baskets up and down and set timers, have quarters, etc. What a blessing it is. Hope it’s fixed soon!

  5. January 24, 2008 11:19 am

    I feel VERY blessed that Bill already has a washer and dryer, so we have no need to buy one, or go to a laundry mat. I feel so bad for you…I remember lugging cloths to clean them during college. Ugh.

    We did, however, have to buy a new oven. But that was kind of exciting for me b/c it’s my first large appliance! (Bill was funny, he was like, we don’t need a new oven…we can just cook on the grill…Apparently, that’s what he’s been doing for the last 9 months or so…men are just so odd.)

  6. January 24, 2008 11:54 am

    Hi Melanie! Congrads on the new oven, that’s exciting! However, I understand Bill’s love of the grill. More and more, I love cooking everything I can on there. Meat and veggies taste SO much better that way. But of course, you can’t bake in a grill. 🙂

  7. January 25, 2008 2:08 pm

    Don’t hate me, but I tagged you…

Leave a Reply

