Skip to content

Handmade Love

January 21, 2008

Handmade. There’s something about getting a gift made by hand makes the item extra special. It means someone took the time to make choices, be creative, and actually take the time to make whatever it is that they’re giving you. So, when I get something handmade, I really treasure it. A lot of love was put into making it.

Duncan and Owen got much handmade love. Cute booties. Two quilts made by each set of great-grandmas. A set of groovy chocolate and blue quilts made by a friend now on her way to live in England. They also got two handmade items from friends I’ve never met, at least not in person. Although it seems like I know them well.

Quilt

Ashleigh sent them handmade love in this adorable quilt. I love the blue, yellow, and brown color combo. The classic pooh is adorable. Quilting is so daunting to me. Isn’t it beautiful? And to think she had time to do that while being busy with two little girls.

Hats

Bethany knitted them these adorable hats! Aren’t they precious? I don’t know how she had the time with her own little girl being just a month younger than my boys.

Thank you both for the handmade love!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2008 3:50 pm

    Oh, I just LOVE it ALL! I know exactly what you mean about handmade love. The quilt looks great–and the simplicity of it is just your style. The hats are cute, too. The way your boys are smiling at each other they look like mirror images. Their expresion says, “Hey, nice hat. Where’d you get it? “‘ Same place you got yours, dude.”

  2. January 21, 2008 3:51 pm

    PS Isn’t it fun to get gifts from other bloggers you’ve never met? I remember the feeling the first time Isabelle sent me handmade love from France–a purse and a wall hanging. Precious keepsakes.

  3. January 21, 2008 4:53 pm

    Danielle, glad you’re enjoying the quilt. ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, I LOVE the photo of Duncan and Owen in the hats! What a great moment you captured. Bethany did a great job on the hats!

  4. anne permalink
    January 21, 2008 5:18 pm

    Great picture of the boys in the hats! They are so adorable! Bethany did a great job.I got the privlage of recieving quilts from Ashleigh as well, and they are beautiful! I will have to post them while I am on this gifts kick!
    Fun stuff!

  5. bethyoung permalink
    January 21, 2008 6:58 pm

    So cute!!!! I make handmade nothing, so expect just that…NOTHING!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. January 21, 2008 7:07 pm

    Those are wonderful! I wish I had talent like that, God bless those that do! I would love to learn someday how to quilt.. hint hint ๐Ÿ™‚

    It was very nice briefly meeting you in person on Sunday. I like connecting faces to blogs ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. January 21, 2008 7:09 pm

    Oh you know I adore the pic you took of them in the hats…..it is just perfect. Thank you for doing that for me to enjoy seeing them in the hats…so thoughtful.

    I have been meaning to do a handmade post too. I have an adorable quilt from Ashleigh too and a handmade doll that Adelee just got from another friend……as soon as I have another computer to download pics on I will be doing that.

    PS I love your bed too

  8. Sarah permalink
    January 21, 2008 8:55 pm

    Aww, how thoughtful of them! The quilt is super cute, and the hats look incredibly good on those adorable heads.

  9. January 21, 2008 9:06 pm

    OH my goodness…those hats are great, and that photo is fabulous!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. January 21, 2008 9:07 pm

    p.s. Danielle, are you on Flickr?

  11. January 22, 2008 12:07 pm

    No, I’m not on Flickr. I have pondered it, though.

  12. January 22, 2008 3:37 pm

    you should. I asked because I wished I could look at the EXIF data for that photo–it’s such a great one ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. January 22, 2008 4:13 pm

    I could send it to you. The only thing is for this photo I did some photo editingโ€“more than I usually do, because the light wasn’t good and the image looked really yellow, but I wanted to get a picture to Bethany ASAP. I’m usually personally against photo editing snapshots to an extensive degree. I like “pure” photography, where the shot is good based on decisions at the time of shooting (unless the purpose of the image was to be a “graphic,” so to speak). Anyway, I just wanted to acknowledge it had some tweaking, and the original shot wasn’t so hot. ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me know if you still want the EXIF data and I’ll send it.

  14. January 24, 2008 12:23 pm

    That is a cute, CUTE picture of your boys. I love the mirror image look.

Leave a Reply

