Skip to content

Saucy Chocolate Cake

January 8, 2008

Laurie asked for some no fail recipes for entertaining. I just made this yummy and easy chocolate cake recipe on Friday, when our neighbors came over for dessert. It’s a moist chocolate cake that sits on top of a kind of chocolate pudding or sauce. Sounds difficult? No, it’s not. Plus, it’s made out of ingredients one usually has on hand.

Saucy Chocolate Cake

1 Cup Flour
1/2 Cup Sugar
3 Tb. cocoa powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 Cup Milk
2 Tb. butter
1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Lightly butter 8x8x2 in. baking dish

Combine dry ingredients, then stir in milk, butter, and vanilla until just blended. Spoon into dish and spread evenly. Then make topping.

Topping:

2 Tb. Cocoa powder
3/4 Cup packed brown sugar
1/2 Cup chopped pecans
1 3/4 Cup boiling water

In another bowl combine sugar, nuts, and cocoa; gradually stir in boiling water until sugar dissolves. Gently pour over batter in dish.

Bake 25–30 minutes until the top of cake springs back when touched with fingertips.

Enjoy!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2008 2:51 pm

    thanks for this. i’m going to make it tomorrow for two ladies coming in the late afternoon. πŸ™‚ I’ll let you know how it goes over.

  2. briana permalink
    January 8, 2008 2:59 pm

    My mom made this for us all the time growing up. I LOVED it. I made it once for company after we were married, but LA didn’t care for it. It is very chocolaty which is probably why I LOVE it…it’s best served right from the oven. mmmm….posting this makes me want to make some right now, but I have a tree to un-decorate. πŸ™‚

  3. January 8, 2008 3:41 pm

    Hope it goes well, Laurie.

    Briana, I got this from my friend Jessica, who was my housemate for a time. It is chocolaty, however, this version is not overly sweet. Josh isn’t a huge sweet tooth, and even he liked it. You don’t have to make it with the nuts, but I think it makes it especially good.

    I’ll have you over some time and we’ll have it!

  4. anne permalink
    January 8, 2008 8:58 pm

    dangerous!

  5. January 9, 2008 7:56 pm

    Does it call for an egg? I made it today and i think i overmixed it or something. it was still delicious, but really dense.

  6. January 10, 2008 8:16 am

    I double checked the ingredients and they’re all right. It is a dense cake. Almost more like a brownie with sauce underneath.

  7. mummynurse permalink
    January 10, 2008 9:46 am

    that sounds very yummy. I may have to try this myself soon (much to the chagrin of my waist line!!)
    πŸ™‚

  8. January 10, 2008 2:49 pm

    that sounds wonderful!! can’t wait to try it.

  9. theteachercooks permalink
    September 30, 2009 10:31 am

    This sounds like something I could teach my students how to make. Thanks

  10. theteachercooks permalink
    September 30, 2009 10:32 am

    What is the leavening agent for the cake? Do you use self-rising flour?

  11. September 30, 2009 11:59 am

    No, I don’t use self-rising flour. Not sure what leavens it, if anything. It’s dense.

Leave a Reply

