Skip to content

2008 Goals

January 3, 2008

I enjoy making New Year’s Resolutions because–surprise–I like making lists! Last year, I had one resolution: to continue a healthy pregnancy and have my twins. I didn’t care about much else besides me kitchen getting done! 🙂 I’ve already been inspired by reading some of my friends goals that they’ve posted, so I thought I’d do the same. This year, I did sit down and come up with some small and big things I’d like to accomplish.

1. Make a new recipe every week, chosen from the existing cookbooks I own. Systematically pick a recipe from each of my books. (I own so many cookbooks I’ve never even made a meal from. I hope to change that this year.)

2. Practice hospitality by inviting someone over once a month (non-family member).

3. Set up design business: print business cards and get website up and running.

4. Finish writing and illustrating children’s book I already started and pursue finding an agent.

5. Practice guitar more consistently and start learning electric guitar. Continue songwriting.

6. Learn to use all the manual settings on my camera with ease.

7. Grow in my role of motherhood.

8. Recycle more consistently and organize myself in this area to make it easier and practical.

The two goals that I think will be most challenging for me will be to finish writing/illustrating the children’s book. It’s basically written, but I need to start laying it out and illustrating it. I’ve already done a rough draft of the layout, but I think I’m really intimidated by the project and the prospect of failing. But, it’s been on my heart and mind for about two years, so I’ve decided the time for action has come instead of just dreaming about it.

The second goal that will be challenging will be to practice the guitar more consistently. Josh got a new electric guitar that is so beautiful I really want to learn to play it. Up to this point I’ve only played acoustic and have never been consistent in practicing. Josh is encouraging me to practice everyday, even if only for 10 minutes. The challenge is to find a good time to do that. The time that’s usually available is when the boys nap, but since we live in a small, one level house, I don’t want to wake them up. I’ll need to do some creative thinking about that one.

So that’s my goals for 2008!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2008 3:54 pm

    Maybe they’ll like the music! 🙂

  2. January 3, 2008 5:01 pm

    Great goals, Danielle! I’m so glad you shared them with us. I’ll be praying about your books.

  3. January 6, 2008 3:11 pm

    Great, well-rounded goals. I like the practical as well as spiritual.

    Hey, tell Josh the chord changes were great today. I love it when they’re seamless! Plus the focus on God’s love!!!

Leave a Reply

