Skip to content

Coffee table books that won’t stay there

November 29, 2007

Midwest ModernAmy Butler’s Midwest Modern: A Fresh Design Spirit for the Modern Lifestyle

If you like design, sewing, houses, gardening, or just looking at beautiful things, then this book’s for you. Amy Butler is a fabulous fabric designer and pattern developer. I loved reading about her design philosophy, the way she works, and seeing her studio. The photographs, taken by her photographer/graphic designer husband, are lush. I enjoyed the organization and layout of the book as well. So, whether you decide to read or just look at this book, it’s a treat.

Sweety PiesSweety Pies: An Uncommon Collection of Womanish Observations, with Pie

Written by Patty Pinner, this is a delicious book in every way. It works as a culinary memoir, and I love how she connects making pies as a way the women she grew up with communicated with each other. Pinner shares that “when I was a young girl, I loved being in the kitchen with my mother. Mama’s kitchen was shrouded in an air of passion and mystery. She told womanly stories in her kitchen, disclosed family secrets in her kitchen, and hid her ain’t-gonna-put-up-with-no-unnecessary-mess-from-no-man cookie jar savings account in her kitchen.” The book is filled with both delicious and interesting recipes (Bernice Brock’s Old-Fashioned Grits Pie, anyone?), beautiful photographs, and sprinkled with quotes, stories, and feminine musings.

Images from Amazon.com 

Note for local folks: These books are available through the Harford County Library system.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany permalink
    November 29, 2007 5:09 pm

    Gonna have to check these out

  2. November 29, 2007 8:14 pm

    Those both sound like good books! Thanks for the recommendations!

  3. November 29, 2007 9:04 pm

    Thx for the tip. I know I’d love the A.B. one.

  4. November 29, 2007 9:32 pm

    Thanks for the recommendations! I’ll have to check out our library system. I keep seeing the adds for the pie one in Fine Cooking but I didn’t think to look in the library.

  5. November 30, 2007 8:56 am

    Libraries are so great, especially ours! I can put stuff on hold and then pick it up by going through the drive through!! That drive through has saved my sanity with little twin boys. I wouldn’t be able to make “library runs” quite as often if I had to drag them in with me every time I wanted to pick up a book.

  6. bethyoung permalink
    November 30, 2007 10:23 pm

    it’s on hold for me as we speak 🙂

Leave a Reply

