Skip to content

An Unexpected Split

November 8, 2007

An Unexpected SplitRadiant magazine online just posted my article, An Unexpected Split. Writing this article was like therapy for me and helped me “process” a lot of stuff. I hope it ministers to those who may have a similar life experience. I hardly found any writing on this topic, despite the fact I have so many friends in their 20’s from “good Christian homes” who’ve gone through a comparable situation. A lot is written about being a child of divorced parents, but little about how to deal with parental splits as an adult child. I hope this article helps fill that void.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this topic if you’ve faced a similar situation.

Image from http://www.radiantmag.com

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Marie J permalink
    November 8, 2007 7:52 pm

    Danielle, what an excellent article. God has given you such a gift for communicating effectively. Thanks for sharing so openly and with such wisdom. This is a difficult topic and you are right about the need for counsel and guidance in this area. I’m sure many people will be blessed by your wisdom. Again, thanks.

  2. November 8, 2007 8:55 pm

    Great article, Danielle! Very practical and I’m sure it’ll be helpful to many.

  3. zoanna permalink
    November 8, 2007 9:47 pm

    Danielle, I am so sorry. I really am. It’s sobering, sad, and sickening. Sorry for the alliteration, but those words came quickest to my head about this situation. Your experience, and the comfort you’ve received in the process, is certainly going to be used redemptively , which you know. Thank you for writing the article.

  4. Naomi Bond permalink
    November 9, 2007 8:28 am

    I will be praying for you and your family.

  5. anne permalink
    November 9, 2007 9:53 am

    Danielle, when you first told me your story I was amazed at your wisdom and insight. You do have a great way with words, and I know that your article will minister to those of many ages.
    Thank you for sharing yourself and being so honest and transparent!

  6. briana permalink
    November 9, 2007 2:41 pm

    What a blessing God has given to you and us by giving you the gift of writing. Very articulate. I’m sure it was a cathartic thing for you, and prayerfully, will be helpful to others as well.

  7. November 11, 2007 12:00 pm

    Danielle, thanks for sharing the wisdom and insight God has given you through this trial. God is already about redeeming the situation for His glory as you share what He is doing to help others in a similar situation.

  8. November 19, 2007 9:15 pm

    At first I wasn’t going to comment but changed my mind after re-reading several parts of your article. My parents are separated, too. I was just thinking the other day while at the bookstore that there really isn’t any great books out there on how to deal w/that as an adult. Thanks for your article.

Trackbacks

  1. Friend-shifts « Dance by the Light

Leave a Reply

