Skip to content

Open Door Cafe

October 31, 2007

It was a rainy Wednesday, last week, when I met my friend Emily at Open Door Cafe. It was my first time visiting this establishment, and I was excited to try it out. We were ushered into the dining room and the staff were accommodating by leading us a table out of the regular traffic flow. It had enough space so my boys, in their infant seats, would be comfortable. I was surprised at how packed the dining room was with the lunch crowd. Also, the dining room felt a little more formal than I anticipated, and more like a restaurant than cafe to me. This was not a negative thing, but it was definitely a different feeling than I’d perceived it from the outside. The walls were covered with trompe l’oeil paintings, which I wasn’t particularly fond of, but they did make the atmosphere warm and cozy.

Emily and I both ordered one of the specials of the day: chicken pot pie. I’m a sucker for chicken pot pie; it’s one of my absolute favorite comfort foods. On such a rainy day, it seemed like the perfect choice. My only complaint with my meal was that I felt like our waiter, when telling us about the pot pie, should have told us it wasn’t your typical pot pie. Instead of the filling being inside a pastry “pie,” the filling was poured over toasted brioche bread. This came as a surprise to both Emily and I, when it came to our table. I’m not sure if this knowledge would have changed my selection, but it might have. That being said, the filling was deliciously creamy!

We finished our meal with dessert. Their dessert selections change daily. Emily choice a fluffy coconut cake and I the pumpkin mousse, topped with a dollop of whipped cream and sprinkled with nuts. I loved the mousse. It was light and melted in your mouth. Emily’s cake was also delicious, and I liked the fact that the icing was not sickeningly sweet, but sweet enough. This is definitely a good place to come just for dessert and coffee!

So, local folks, check out this little cafe. You can purchase coffees at the coffee bar for take out too, if you are on the run. The menu is available for download through the restaurant’s website. Also, if you’ve already eaten at Open Door Cafe, what did you have and what did you think?

The Details:
Open Door Cafe: 528 Baltimore Pike, Bel Air, MD 21015; 410-838-4393
Website: www.open-door-cafe.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2007 5:05 pm

    Matt played his djembe (small African drum) there with a group of guys one night last year for a coffee house. I had an amazing hot chocolate – they even added cinnamon, which I wasn’t expecting but really enjoyed. I appreciate their mission too!

    Keep meaning to go back for a meal sometime but never think of it on the right day!

  2. briana permalink
    October 31, 2007 6:07 pm

    I had my breakfast lunch there; it was yummmmmy. I had a shrimp salad sandwich and LA had the “adult mac-n-cheese”. Both were very good. We had to pass on dessert b/c we were so full, but I’d like to go back there sometime for just dessert and coffee.

  3. October 31, 2007 8:14 pm

    I had breakfast there once w/ Sandy Barranco. Thought it was average. But went there for dinner with our care group women, and had the crab omelet, which was very good, but Lauren let me try her shrimp salad sandwich and it was out of this world good!. Loaded up and not too mayonaissey, with the perfecft blend of seasonings. Loved it so much I took Stephen to lunch shortly thereafter for some mother-son fellowship. He loved the shrimp salad, too. The cream of crab soup was excellent, too.
    My only complaint is that the chairs aren’t especially comfortable, and the prices are , in my opinion, a smidge high for the portions. Paul and I stopped in once for dinner, but the prices were too steep for his mood. Plus he said it’s a “woman’s kind of place.” Yeh, a bit feminine, but look at the clientele!

  4. November 1, 2007 6:50 am

    Leanne, if you like cinnamon in hot chocolate, check out the hot chocolate recipe I posted a few days ago.

    Zoanna and Briana, the shrimp salad sandwhich was my second choice, so if I go back again for lunch, I’ll have to try it. Yes, I thought the prices are a little steep for cafe fare.

  5. November 1, 2007 10:29 am

    I’ve never heard of chicken pot pie being made that way before. It all sounds yummy. I wonder if there’s some way I could order take out from Texas?

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  6. bethyoung permalink
    November 2, 2007 9:04 am

    I like it there and Chad thinks it’s so-so. I had the shrimp salad sandwich and LOVED it!!! The kids liked it too. The wait staff was friendly but not very fast.

  7. November 2, 2007 10:06 am

    Seems like the shrimp salad sandwhich is hands down the way to go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

