Skip to content

Sacred and Fearful Work

October 25, 2007

I love Jenny Schroedel’s thought-provoking, contemplative writing, and totally enjoyed her beautiful article, The Gift of Presence. In it she talks about living each moment with our children to it’s fullest, and not rushing from one task to another. It’s something I always need to be reminded of. I highly recommend it to moms of young children.

I loved this quote:

“They [children] are birthed into our lives and nurtured in our homes only so that they can be released into the world. We embrace them each day against a horizon of small and large leavings to come. And we hope that our care will inspire them to become healers in a broken and aching world.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2007 10:45 am

    Thanks for sharing that Danielle!!!!!!!!!!!!! Totally crying after reading that article. Her words are so true. I need to print that out and hang in on my fridge for a reminder when I become overwhelmed with laundry and floors to mop and the calendar.

  2. October 25, 2007 11:51 am

    That is quite probably the best parenting advice I’ve ever read… Thank you *so* much for posting this!

  3. October 25, 2007 9:44 pm

    I linked to this on my blog too! Loved it.

Leave a Reply

