Skip to content

Mexican Hot Chocolate

October 23, 2007

Some friends and I spent last Friday evening watching the delightful movie, Chocolat. The movie is a visual feast (the scenery, clothes, chocolate) and the music is one of my favorite film scores. Appropriately, I made Mexican Hot Chocolate to indulge in while watching the fairy tale-like story. I got this out of the newspaper some time ago. Here’s the recipe, indulge!

Mexican Hot Chocolate (Serves 4)

1/4 C. sugar
1/4 C. unsweetened cocoa
1/2 Tsp. instant coffee powder or granules
1/8 Salt
1 C. water
1 stick cinnamon (if I don’t have a stick I just sprinkle some in)
2 C. milk
1 C. half-and-half
1 Tbs. vanilla extract
1/8 tsp. ground cloves

In a 2-quart saucepan, mix sugar, cocoa, instant coffee, and salt. Stir in water; add cinnamon stick. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes

Add milk and half-and-half to cocoa mixture, stirring constantly. Bring to a boil and then remove from heat.

Mix in vanilla and cloves; remove cinnamon stick; beat until foamy, then serve.

Delicious with a dollop of whipped cream and sipped while snacking on lightly buttered popcorn sprinkled with 2 Tbs. of a cinnamon/sugar mixture.

Does anyone else have favorite movie/food pairings?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2007 4:26 pm

    sounds yummy! but is there something I could substitute for half and half? I never have that on hand.

  2. October 23, 2007 5:18 pm

    Hey Danielle…I have red shoes now inspired by the movie! Of course, if you see me wandering the roads with a red coat on and a bag of Hershey Kisses during the next wind storm, you might want to be concerned! 🙂

  3. October 23, 2007 5:32 pm

    You could just use 2 cups of milk total instead of the 1 cup. It’ll just be slightly less creamy, but I make regular hot chocolate with just milk so it should be fine.

  4. briana permalink
    October 23, 2007 7:15 pm

    And, I’m looking for red shoes. Kristin, you crack me up! The movie night was delightful. Too bad I didn’t try the hot chocolate. I’ll have to make it. I’m glad I was able to make it and enjoy a good movie, good drink and good friends. 😉

  5. October 26, 2007 11:21 am

    Sounds wonderful.

Leave a Reply

