Skip to content

Déjà vu?

October 16, 2007

For those of you in the Baltimore metro area, let me suggest The Walters Art Museum’s new exhibition, Déjà vu? Revealing Repetition in French Masterpieces. I have been looking forward to this show for a long time, and it was one of the exhibitions I was working on when I left The Walters to have my twins. It does sadden me that I was not able to be there for the final production and installation of this show, as I’d been working on it for a couple of years. The most exciting part of a show is always getting the physical space ready and the arrival of the art, so I really missed that for this show in particular.

This exhibition features some of the greatest French paintings you can only see in Europe, including works by David, Ingres, Delacroix, Monet, Degas, Cezanne, and Matisse, to just name a few of the heavy hitters. The premise is fascinating as well. It explores why artists repeat themselves. Sometimes it was for profit (prior to modern means of reproduction), sometimes it was to explore a subject, sometimes it was obsession for perfection. Whatever the purpose, this show will be interesting, and has several interactive elements. I’m looking forward to going for a visit very soon!

Here’s some of the press if you’re interested:

Capitol Online
The Washington Post
The Baltimore Sun

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

