Skip to content

Random Tip

October 9, 2007

I know there are several other nursing mothers who read this blog, so I couldn’t not pass on this possibly valuable information.

I’ve consistently had problems with recurring clogged milk ducts. It is painful and can cause Mastitis, which I’ve been on the verge of having twice. After talking to my lactation consultant, she said that studies have shown that Lecithin supplements have reduced or totally cleared up this problem. They personally know several moms who, once they’ve started taking Lecithin, have not had any more issues with clogged milk ducts. You can buy Lecithin at your local vitamin or health food store in liquid, tablet, or granule form. If you start feeling a flare up, you can take more to help it get the clogs out of your system before you get an infection.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2007 3:59 pm

    Awesome…I, too, know this problem. It’s painful as well as time consuming. Thanks for the tip.

  2. October 9, 2007 5:14 pm

    Thanks for the tip. I’ve never heard of this. My sister is having some similar problems, I’ll email her your advice.

  3. October 9, 2007 7:09 pm

    Yeah, I’d never heard of it either. I’d read up on what to do with this issue in my breastfeeding books, and no mention of supplements at all. The supplement is good for all sorts of things, my mom takes it for other issues, so it can’t hurt!

Leave a Reply

