Skip to content

Sand and Water

October 1, 2007

Ocean and footprintsOur room overlooks the ocean. We sleep with the sliding glass doors open; the only sounds are the thunder of the waves and the whirl of the ceiling fan. The sound of the waves remind me of a strong wind, rushing through the leaves of trees. A full moon spills light, as white as milk, over the rippling ocean surface.

At dawn, the sun rises while streaks of gold and rose, chalky and pastel, are smeared across the sky. I venture into the water’s frothy, churning power and feel small against the expanse of blue. Sand gives way beneath my feet, pulled by the force of the sea.

What is it that calms me so about the ocean? It soothes, yet invigorates. I feel vibrant and alive. My senses are heightened. The taste of salty grit in my mouth. Sleep refreshes me unlike it does when I am home, perhaps because I’m drained by the sun and from doing battle with waves. I have a ferocious appetite. The smell of the air is fresh and salty. The sand is warm against my body, when I lay on my blanket. The is water cool and refreshing.

I am more my natural self here, amongst sand and water. I am casual, barefoot, make-up-less, with hair falling into its own organic shape, not confined to styling.

I feel as though I could live in nature, sustained only by water, sand, and sun.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mama permalink
    October 1, 2007 9:35 pm

    Since I too was recently at the ocean I know exactly what you mean. It demonstrates so many characteristics of our Lord. Power of the ocean, unbelievable brightness, warmth, refreshment, joy, unspeakable peace. It is constant. The gifts of the sea.

    “Nature is the most consistently reliable companion each of us maintains throughout our life. Come what may, the seasons will change, the birds will migrate, snowflakes will fall, bulbs will bloom from the soil, the sun will rise and set. We can count on all of this, even when everything else around seems so uncertain.”

  2. briana permalink
    October 1, 2007 9:55 pm

    How beautifully written, Danielle! I feel this way when in the mountains and lakes, though, as opposed to the ocean.

  3. bethyoung permalink
    October 3, 2007 8:26 am

    Ok, so it’s no secret that I could never write something as eloquent and creative as this so I’ll just tell you “great job” and that I feel a rush of these same feelings at times, but mostly when I drop my kids off at preschool! I’m so bad.

  4. Bethany permalink
    October 4, 2007 11:06 pm

    Beautiful. Now I want to go to the beach and sit in that warm sand.

Leave a Reply

