Skip to content

Easy Fall Centerpiece

September 20, 2007

Fall Centerpiece

I’ve been busy decorating and making changes for the coming fall season. Pulling out the winter throws, pillows, and candles. Lacking time and money these days, I came up with an easy centerpiece I did for our kitchen table. I’m not fond of fake flora or knick kacks in general, but I love bringing nature indoors. So, I took a bamboo placemat and centered it on our table. I got a pretty bowl out and filled it with some fruit I bought this week. Then, when on a walk with the boys, I gathered some pretty leaves and acorns and artfully arranged them. Easy as can be. Granted, it will slowly disappear as the apples are eaten! Don’t overlook decorating with branches, berries, leaves, and grasses to make beautiful arrangements this time of year. Flowers aren’t the only thing you can bring inside.

What are your favorite easy arrangements?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. briana permalink
    September 20, 2007 7:19 pm

    I LOVE decorating for fall and doing similar to you: bringing the outside, in. I did something so similar to this last year with the leaves and apples. I think I might have used a trifle dish to raise it up and placed leaves below. Currently, I have three ears of Indian corn from my sister’s garden (she’s amazing!) with two mini pumpkins on either side, again from my sister’s garden. FREE and easy. I had laid them on the island one day waiting to figure out where I was going to put them and how I was going to arrange them, and then decided they looked rather “right” just laying there in the center of my island…simple. That’s what I like!

  2. Ashleigh permalink
    September 21, 2007 8:07 am

    Great centerpiece!

    On our dining room table, I simply have a candle. I’ve given up on putting a centerpiece on the kitchen table or island, it always gets moved. Either by the girls when they’re ready to eat, or when we use the island to prepare meals on.

  3. bethyoung permalink
    September 22, 2007 2:57 pm

    I laughed to myself when I read that you don’t like knick knacks much. I am knick knack queen! Are you sure you like me??!!!

  4. anne permalink
    September 22, 2007 5:12 pm

    very nice!

    To answer your random question…I am about halfway through the book and I do like it. If you have read “Sherpharding the Child’s Heart” by Ted Tripp it is very simular, in fact published by the same company.
    It is a good one so far.l would recommend it. 🙂

  5. zoanna permalink
    September 22, 2007 8:38 pm

    I like centerpieces that don’t take up much room, like yours. Natural, too. when possible. My favorites will always be flowers. I’ve told my husband, if we were independently wealthy, I would have a flower budget. I get a lot of mileage out of one bouquet. I start with it tall, and as they wilt one by one, I edit them out, cut them down, till I’m left with a teacup of flowers for the windowsill.

  6. September 22, 2007 11:26 pm

    Right now, I have a smattering of mini pumpkins and gourds that are arranged around a little bouquet of orange lilies ($5 at Trader Joes). I have a cornucopia basket that I’ll pull out in a few weeks and fill with the pumpkins, gourds, and some nuts and pomegranates. I also bought some fall leaves that were preserved (with wax?) that I fill in like you did with the fresh ones. The nice thing is the basket, leaves and nuts all keep for the next year.

    Another centerpiece that I’ve done before in Fall is with a big candle, the kind with four wicks. I bought a bag of bulk mixed nuts and spred them around the candle on a pretty china plate or cake plate if I wanted it tall. The nuts keep for several years as a decoration.

  7. September 23, 2007 3:04 pm

    Anne, thanks for answering my question.

    Beth, of course I still love you! 😉 By the way, your house doesn’t look very knick knacky to me. I mean, I don’t consider candles, baskets and such knick knacks. Whatever knick knacks you have are tasteful, ’cause I love your house. I’m thinking of figurines, and stuff that’s season specific (little santa clauses come to mind). I do admit to buying a twig pumpkin at Target though. It was $2.50!

    Christina, I love a big candle on a plate with something around it. In the summer I’ve used shells or stones. Nuts is a great fall idea. Also, I’ve used chunky potpourri before too.

  8. briana permalink
    September 23, 2007 9:43 pm

    I do the same thing Zo does with flowers, and I, too, love Christina’s idea with the candle and nuts. I might try that this year; I just have to find a place for it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

