Skip to content

4 Faves | Pasta

September 5, 2007

I got tagged by Megan to post four of my favorite recipes in any category. So far people have done desserts, stand-by recipes, and autumn favorites. I decided to share some favorite pastas that are perfect for the upcoming cold months. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

1. Penne Alla Telefano

Quick and easy, this pasta is truly comfort food. Cheesy and with a touch of crushed red pepper flake zing it’s also a delicious paring of tomato and basil.

 

 

 

 

 

2. Linguine with Turkey Sausage and Peppers

Another Martha recipe, this is one of the first meals Josh made me. It’s one of our favorites. The sausage and peppers make this a delicious fall pasta dish.

 

3. Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Pasta
This is my favorite Butternut Squash recipe! So flavorful!
Serves 4

4 Cups peeled butternut squash, cut into 2-inch cubes
2 Cups red onion, chopped
4 bacon slices, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 Tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary (or dried, which is usually what I use)
4 Tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and Pepper
1 pound penne pasta
6 ounces chard or spinach leaves, stemmed and torn into large pieces (I’ve always omitted the chard because I didn’t have any on hand the first time I made it, and loved it so much I’ve always made it without since then.)
2 ounces Parmesan cheese, grated

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Toss squash, onion, bacon, and rosemary with 2 tablespoons olive oil and spread in a single layer on a large baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast until tender and browned, 20-25 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package directions until al dente. Place the chard or spinach in a large bowl. Put a colander over the bowl and drain pasta over the leaves. Let sit 1 minute; drain well and squeeze out excess water from chard/spinach.

3. Toss chard or spinach leaves with pasta, squash mixture, and remaining 2 tablespoons oil. Season with additional salt and pepper to taste. Toss with Parmesan cheese and serve.

 

 

 

 

 

4. Lime Garlic Shrimp
Probably the most healthy of the pasta recipes I’ve posted, this dish bursts with fresh flavor. It’s a rather light pasta, as far as pastas go, and is one of our favorite shrimp dishes.
4 Servings

 

1 package (7 oz.) thin spaghetti
4 garlic cloves
2 Tbs. Butter
1 pound uncooked medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 package (6 oz.) frozen snow peas, thawed
1 medium sweet red pepper. julienned
3 Tbs. minced fresh basil or 1 TB dried basil
2 Tbs. minced fresh parsley
Pepper to taste
1/4 C. low-sodium chicken broth
1 Tbs. lime juice
1/2 C. grated nonfat Parmesan cheese
1/4 C. skim milk
1/2 tsp. grated lime peel

 

Cook spaghetti according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a skillet, saute garlic in butter for 1 minute. Add the shrimp, peas, red pepper, basil, parsley and pepper. Stir-fry for 4 minutes or until shrimp turn pink and vegetables are crisp-tender. Add broth and lime juice. Cook and stir for 1 minute. Drain spaghetti; stir in cheese, milk, and lime peel. Serve shrimp mixture over spaghetti.

The Rules:

1. Let others know who tagged you (Megan)

2. Start with 4 recipes you especially like

3. Instead of tagging anyone, I’ll just say if you read this, feel free to consider yourself tagged!

4. Those who are tagged should post these rules and their 4 recipes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2007 6:42 pm

    These look good! Thanks for posting them.

  2. September 6, 2007 11:24 am

    Yummy. I will try them!

  3. September 6, 2007 2:55 pm

    The butternut squash and bacon sounds like my next pasta dish to try! I’ll exchange babysitting for a plate of it, what say ye? Just kidding, I’ll babysit for no bacon!

  4. bethyoung permalink
    September 12, 2007 1:54 pm

    I tried the Martha recipe with turkey sausage and yellow peppers last night. YUM-E! It was delicious. AND, I had it for lunch today. I didn’t use quite as many peppers as they called for (quite shocked by the price of yellow peppers!) and it was so good. Thanks for posting this. Chad said that I could add it to the ongoing rotation of meals for the month! Oh, I also made the Espresso Chocolate Muffins. I didn’t have brown sugar and used all regular sugar, I substituted half of the regular flour for wheat and used raisins instead of walnuts. Still good! You can always count on Beth to not have all of the recipe ingredients on hand — even after a trip to the grocer! I guess I had a Danielle day with your two meals!

Leave a Reply

