Skip to content

McShane’s

August 29, 2007

Last Friday we went to McShane’s, formerly The Cup. Usually, when I want a specialty coffee drink I go to Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts. However, I’m now on a quest to visit all the local coffeehouses, and this was first on my list. I’ve decided to expand my coffee horizons and support local businesses.

Upon entering McShane’s the aroma of coffee beans met us and I soon saw why. Gourmet coffees of every flavor can be purchased by the quarter, half, or full pound. We met the owner right away who was very friendly and excited about the business he and his wife run. Apparently, his wife used to run Baltimore Coffee and Tea, a great store in Timonium, Md. The shop was full of gourmet teas, coffees, baking mixes, and gifts. They even had Barefoot Contessa baking mixes!

The shop had plenty of seating inside and out. We ordered our drinks, and then went to sit outside on the patio. Comfortable outdoor seating and flowers made sitting outside relaxing and beautiful. It was nice to overlook green fields as opposed to the parking lot at Starbucks. We all had frozen drinks: Mocha Coconut, Chai Tea, and Double Chocolate were our chosen flavors. They also have a varied menu with salads, sandwiches, and paninis. The owner shared that the shrimp salad is their specialty.

I definitely want to go back. I’d love to try their food, as well as purchase some of their gourmet coffee. So, local folks, check them out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2007 10:04 am

    I too love going to the local places vs. national chains. Many times the quality is better and the people are much friendlier. Our friends just opened up a coffee shop in town. They serve Illy brand coffee which is wonderful! I’m glad you discovered a good find.

  2. August 31, 2007 2:29 pm

    Sounds good! I need to start giving the local coffee shops here a try. I love local restaurants, so I bet that I’d love local coffee shops too.

Leave a Reply

