Skip to content

The Strange and The Mundane

August 24, 2007

The Strange: A few nights ago it was raining and Josh went out to our front porch to put the potted and hanging plants out in the yard to get a watering. As he picked up one of the plants, out flew a bat! It flew into Josh’s chest and proceeded to poop on him! I’m sure not many people have been pooped on by a bat.

The Mundane: For several mornings now, I’ve woken to find a burp cloth crumpled up near my pillow. Apparently, during the night feeding I’ve not taken it out when I’ve finished with it. I feel I must have reached a new level of motherhood, now that I’m sleeping with burp cloths.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. zoanna permalink
    August 24, 2007 9:07 am

    Ew and ew on the bat and the poop. I would ahve freaked just having the bat fly out. I cannot cannot cannot stand those ugly things!

    Have you nicknamed your hubby Batman?

    Yes, You have reached a new level of motherhood–when you frequesntly say, “How in the WORLD?” 🙂

  2. Josh permalink
    August 24, 2007 10:29 am

    It was more strange that I didn’t scream and jump around like a girl…that’s what usually happens…I must have been half asleep.

  3. August 24, 2007 11:49 am

    Holy Bat Poo!!!!! HA HA. Gross. And quite freaky. Although it sounds like Josh scared the bat more…he scared the poo outta him.

    I have not been pooped on by a bat but I had a strange huge bug fly into me and poo on me once….and speaking of poo I have now been pooed on by Adelee 4 times…twice in public…way more than my boys ever pooed on me.

    I sleep with burp clothes a flash light and an aspirator welcome to the club

  4. briana permalink
    August 24, 2007 12:18 pm

    There is nothing I fear more than bats…and these stories are precisely why. I’m sure I would have been traumatized for life.

  5. bethyoung permalink
    August 24, 2007 12:26 pm

    HA!

  6. zoanna permalink
    August 24, 2007 2:40 pm

    Haven’t had a bat poop on me, but one time I was greeting a new neighbor in the back yard. ABove me was a big tree, and in that big tree was a little bird, and in that little bird was a case of bird flu, I guess–or indigestion– and that little bird decided that perching about ten feet above me would be just about the perfect place to empty his bowels. So while I’m welcoming Mrs. New Neighbor, PHLEHT! Right on my glasses. What do you say? What CAN you say?

  7. Sarah permalink
    August 24, 2007 4:12 pm

    Ewww!!! I would have freaked out.

  8. August 24, 2007 8:23 pm

    I was JUST going to ask if Josh screamed like a girl (remember the dear head???)???!!!!

  9. Sara permalink
    August 27, 2007 7:48 am

    Both of those are VERY funny. Josh certainly can claim distinction in the world now.

    You’ve also reached motherhood when you carry socks in your pockets.

    — SJ

Leave a Reply

