Skip to content

Beverly’s Growing Up

June 19, 2007

I’ve written about Beverly before. She lives in the Philippines and I sponsor her through Compassion.

Beverly has grown up so much since I first started sponsoring her approximately seven years ago. She’s 15 years old now. With the money I sent her for Christmas, she tells me she bought pants, shirts and some “accessories that I can use for [a] longer time and can be as a remembrance from you . . .” My heart especially melts when she shares, “Thank you so much for everything, for the gift, for the help, and for supporting me. I really appreciate your goodness and God’s goodness because He brought me into your life. Hope we will be more closer [sic] through writing to each other.”

If you think of it, say a prayer for Beverly. She’s been having a physical problem with her menstruation cycle. She’s had continual bleeding for a while now. She has gotten medical help, but nothing has been resolved as of yet.

It’s been really neat to “watch” her grow up. Her letters are more personal now and she often includes artwork with them. I hope one day I can visit the Philippines and meet her. It’s been such a priviledge to sponsor her. If you’ve never considered the possibility, I highly recommend it. Do any others of you sponsor a child? If so, how long have you sponsored them and how have they impacted your life?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2007 8:35 pm

    Danielle! This is so great to read. Yes, as of today, I sponsor a child. I went with http://www.adoptalegacy.com and am sponsoring a young girl named Veronica. It’s been in the works for weeks, but today I gave my first pledge. It’s such a great, tangible way of giving, isn’t it? I can’t wait to receive the letters and pictures that will be sent from time to time. I’m encouraged by your post.

  2. June 20, 2007 6:22 am

    Wonderful! That’s so exciting! I think sponsoring a child is especially neat when you have kids. They can learn about the country, send stuff, and learn not everyone lives the way they do.

  3. June 20, 2007 4:40 pm

    Matt has had a Compassion child since 2000(ish?). His name is Billy, and he’s from Indonesia – he’s 14 or 15 now (his birthday is this time of year, so I can’t remember if he’s turned 15 yet). We’ve so enjoyed the letters he writes to Papa Matthew and Mama Leanne, and his faith is infectious! He wrote one time about praying that God would grant him the gift of tounges, and He did. Oh, to have the faith of a child.

    I think I was most touched when we received a letter a couple months after Katrina hit. It had obviously been written frantically because he had heard about Katrina and was so worried for us and our family members, not really understanding where we live in relation to where Katrina was. We were blown away that a child would be this concerned about us when he lives in such difficult circumstances every day.

  4. June 25, 2007 1:02 pm

    We have had a Compassion child (well I have since before we were married) I have a little girl in Thiland. The first girl I sponsored died right after Seth was born and it was so sad for us. Compassion is great though we were able to pay for her funeral. They prayed with me on the phone when I started crying as they told me. The gal on the phone started crying with me and then told me how not very many people are emotional when they call to say a child has died. I thought how not….we write back and forth and all the time and exchange pictures and drawings. Our sponsored children are part of our life. The new little girl we are sponsoring has no brothers so she calls Seth and Jude her brothers….her American brothers. I send her lots of pics which her mother said she has hanging by her bed. Whenever we vacation or travel the boys pick out stickers and postcards to send to her. IT is so much fun and so rewarding. I really hope one day to be able to go on one of their trips and meet her.

  5. Ashleigh permalink
    June 26, 2007 7:49 am

    We sponsor a little boy through Compassion who lives in India. I actually need to sit down and write him today.

  6. June 28, 2007 8:43 am

    WE’ve had one Compassion child at a time for probably , oh, 15 years? I can’t remember. A couple of them have matured out of the program. Our girl now is Ruth Rebecca Ortiz Sedano (I love her name!!!) from Mexico. She is quite an artist. My favorite part of her letters is the greeting, ” Dear Godfather Paul…”. I have been convicted many times when she says, “Why don’t you write to me?” I MUST do it today. Please hound me, okay???? When we were in Russia, an 11 year old duaghter of our meal host family pulled out a stack of letters from American Chirstians. She cherished them!

  7. Sarah permalink
    June 28, 2007 10:49 am

    I had wanted to sponsor a child for a long time, but wasn’t financially able until this past fall when I got a job. WRBS had their compassion week, and I went ahead and sponsored a little girl, Cyndi. I do need to write her again. It’s so much easier now since you can write to them on the internet.

    I love Mrs. Bethany’s idea of getting stickers and postcards. I’ll have to try and remember to do that.

  8. June 28, 2007 12:24 pm

    It’s great to hear about all your sponsored children! I’m do for another letter to Beverly, but I’m waiting to get pictures of the boys printed to send to her.

Leave a Reply

