Skip to content

My May Day

June 4, 2007

Strawberry CakeSo, I’ve been trying to post this for the past week, but haven’t had time. I guess that’s life with infant twins, huh? Anyway, last week I turned 29. We spent the day quietly at home, which was just the way I wanted it. That evening we ate dinner outside (goat cheese stuffed chicken breasts, pasta salad, and sweet corn, thanks to Krista W. from our church who made us dinner) and then topped it off with cake, coffee, and watermelon. My family came for dessert and gift giving.

I had to share a picture of the beautiful strawberry cake my husband made me. Isn’t it great! Josh has become quite the gourmet since getting married. And he also got me a much wanted gift.

PeoniesMy mom brought a bouquet one of my favorite flowers of all time: peonies. I love their heady fragrance. In the bouquet were also purple irises and white columbine. Since we haven’t moved to working on the outside of our home, we have few flowers, so I was delighted to bring them inside and make my house smell gorgeous.

Of course, the best gift this year was having my healthy boys here with me. It will be fun to share the month of May with them for their first birthday next year!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashleigh permalink
    June 4, 2007 2:21 pm

    Happy belated birthday, Danielle! Glad you had a good day. The cake looks yummy!

  2. Fishmama permalink
    June 4, 2007 2:26 pm

    Happy BDay! Mine was the 27th. I, however, turned 35. Ouch.

    iPod is a great new mom gift. Bryan gave me one for Christmas and it was the perfect thing for nursing. It also helped keep me awake instead of falling asleep in the rocker and waking with a crick in my neck. πŸ™‚

  3. June 4, 2007 2:32 pm

    happy birthday, danielle! i am highly impressed with the cake. πŸ™‚

  4. anne permalink
    June 4, 2007 4:17 pm

    Happy Birthday!!!!! Sounds like the day was perfect…josh did do a fabulous job on the cake! You guys sound like you are doing well! Thanks for the update! πŸ™‚

  5. June 4, 2007 4:51 pm

    Happy bday. What a nice gift from your hubby. I am sure it will soon be filled with music for you and your boys…mine is. HEE HEE. But I love it because I can easily switch and carry all those tunes in the car with me.

    Love peonies too. They are beautiful.

    Sounds like a great day. Happy Birthday.

  6. June 4, 2007 5:24 pm

    Happy Birthday! I love peonies and columbine. What a nice way to spend your day!

  7. June 4, 2007 6:55 pm

    Hey! Happy Birthday, I had no idea! Sounds like a wonderful day all around πŸ™‚

  8. June 4, 2007 9:10 pm

    ohhh peonies! i love them! they are my favorite flower too!

  9. June 4, 2007 11:03 pm

    happy Birthday! and it sounds as you had a fabulous Mother’s day. Congrats on being a new mom! Also, love the borders you put on the images.

    I like your blog – do you mind if I include it in my blog roll?
    Thanks.

  10. Zoanna permalink
    June 5, 2007 10:11 am

    When I read that you ate outside and had goat cheese struffed chicken, I was thinking “Girl, do you EVER stop? C’MON! You just had not one baby, but TWO” What a relief to my battered ego when I read that the meal was made by soemone else! How nice.

    Love peonies, too. Do you say “pee un nees?” or “Pee OH nies?” I can’t hear it the first way w/o thinking of my funny sister-in-law who was debating the pronunciiation with me. She held up two imaginery specimen cups and said, “Here, pee in ‘ese.” Hahhahahahahhah. Anyway, they are beautiful no matter how you say their name.

    If you would like some perennials to plant, let me know. I will be ready to transplant a few. I’d like to swap some with other people and build my Friendship Garden of cutting flowers.

  11. Zoanna permalink
    June 5, 2007 10:13 am

    REady in the fall, i mean.

  12. June 7, 2007 8:45 am

    Thanks for the birthday wishes, everyone. Zoanna, I’ve only made one meal since coming home from the hospital, thank goodness. People have been so kind to bring meals! I say “pee un nees.” I’d love to get any cuttings or plants to transplant in the fall, Zoanna. That would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

