Skip to content

Beyond Blessed

May 1, 2007

Thursday my co-workers hosted a baby shower for Josh and me. There were lots of snacks and the cutest (and tastiest) mini cupcakes from Charm City Cupcakes. It’s not my last day yet, which I was glad about because I’d have been very teary eyed otherwise. Looking around the room, I thought about how much I love working in this institution and with all these people. It’s really a family and I love everyone, no matter how crazy some of them are.

I love being out of touch with the art scene in Baltimore, being downtown, and walking through the galleries everyday. I enjoy gathering with the “girls” (a.k.a. my two co-workers who share my workspace) with our morning coffee and rehashing what we did over the weekend. Installing a show with “the guys” who actually touch the art is always a blast due to their humor that can’t be described and is all their own. I enjoy the curators, some of which come to work with a suit and bowtie and others that looked like they grabbed dirty clothes out of the hamper and sport uncombed hair. I learning about other cultures, due to the many nationalities of people I work with: German, British, Bulgarian to mention a few . I love talking about books at lunch, because everyone reads widely. The curatorial secretary cracks me up when she plasters signs all over our floor like: “Don’t use this side of the elevator,” “No food in this trash can,” “Don’t use the copier for books,” etc. and enforces these rules like a cop.

My co-workers all contributed to give us a card and money. I was blown away. Not until I got into the car on the way home and counted the amount did I realize how much we’d been given. It was a HUGE amount. I couldn’t believe it! What a completely unexpected surprise and blessing! Josh and I are going to save it until the boys grow out of their infant car seats and their Snap n’ Go and we’ll be buying an all-terrain double stroller. It will be completely covered by the gift we received by my co-workers. We certainly received a wonderful blessing!

As a funny side note, I ordered the Snap ‘n Go frame sight unseen because I couldn’t find it anywhere, but was going on recommendations and reviews by twin parents. Then, last week, in Target, I saw not one but TWO twin moms with the Snap n’ Go frame. I flagged one down and asked her what she thought of it. She raved and raved about how she just got it and loved it and didn’t know how she’d gotten through the past three months without it. She had three cute little three month old daughters. It was really nice to actually see the stroller in action though.

Our weekend was very productive. Josh and my brother installed our wood floors Friday night and all day Saturday. Our car seats arrived and my mom and sister helped me whip the nursery in shape, did baby laundry, and started on hospital bag packing. We should be “done” the kitchen by the end of this week, thanks to my husband who works on it every single night of the week. Things are coming together in the nick of time, thanks be to God (as Father Tim would say).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. anne permalink
    May 1, 2007 10:13 am

    What a great gift! Sounds like you have some great co-workers which always makes work So much better, and on the flip side all the harder to leave.
    I am glad thing are coming together, and you guys are as ready as you can be for the TWO bundles of joy that are about to enter your lives!
    Glad too that you got to see the Snap in go in action

    I cannot wait to meet those boys! πŸ™‚

    Ps- Those cupcakes are adorable!

  2. May 1, 2007 10:17 am

    Charm City!! How fun. Can you post a picture of the cupcakes? I love to watch the show about Charm City.

  3. May 1, 2007 10:17 am

    Ok I’m a goof! Wrong company! πŸ™‚

  4. bethyoung permalink
    May 1, 2007 12:34 pm

    Aww, so kind of your co-workers! My blasted gift is still sitting here. I wasn’t at church Sunday, so I’ll plan to give it to you this Sunday for sure!!!!

  5. briana permalink
    May 1, 2007 12:45 pm

    So sweet! I’m glad the provision came for the future stroller. πŸ™‚
    My SIL thought about working for Charm City Cupcakes; she’s an amazing baker herself. I’d love to see pics. too. πŸ™‚

  6. May 1, 2007 2:19 pm

    You are getting so close!!!! Yippee! Won’t be long now. I can’t wait to see your little guys. I can’t wait to see your finished kitchen too.

  7. Ashleigh permalink
    May 1, 2007 2:25 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful shower! And glad you were able to see the stroller in action!

  8. May 1, 2007 3:42 pm

    It does sound like a wonderful and pracitcal gift, for sure. I’ll be praying for your transition. It’s not easy going from dressing up and being recognzied for creativity to barely getting shower by 4 pm and no one (except other moms) realiizing how much more creative a mom is by the very nature of the job. Maybe not in the artsy sense, but certainly in the “art” of making do, of answering silly questions with tact, of figuring out how to stretch a dime like a rubber band, and how to decipher a pain cry from a hunger cry from a “I just want to be heard” cry, and how to figure out they’re lying by making them stick out their tongues.

  9. May 3, 2007 3:49 pm

    Sorry ladies, I don’t have pictures of the cupcakes. You’ll just have to click the link to the site and see the ones they have there!

Leave a Reply

