Skip to content

Pregnancy Reflections–34 Weeks

April 24, 2007

33 weeksI’m glad God made pregnancy 9 months long. Each trimester has been characterized by specific feelings and phases on my part. It’s interesting to look back and see not only how my body has developed to accommodate the changes of two babies growing inside of me, but how I’ve changed as well.

My first trimester was characterized by very light morning sickness and a focus on food. I was obsessed with eating healthy because it also helped me feel better. During that time, focusing on the baby (because I only thought it was one then) mainly meant focusing on eating the right food and portions. The thought of actually having a baby, in the real sense, I pushed out of my mind. There was so much to think about I felt overwhelmed, so I decided not to think too much about it at all. Happy that we’d conceived, I–in Scarlett O’Hara style–decided I’d think about it “tomorrow.”

Second trimester the group of people who knew that I was pregnant broadened as I told everyone at work and I found out that we were having twins. That was such a shocker that it immediately threw me into a slight panic. No longer to wait until “tomorrow” to think things through, I suddenly felt I had to discover all the answers over night. Thus I began reading many pregnancy/twin books, talking to people with twins, and doing product research that made my head whirl. Having our first sonogram made the babies seem much more tangible. The reality was beginning to set in.

As I’ve been going through this final trimester, I’ve grown more excited about meeting our boys. We talk about what it will be like when they arrive. Reality has been heightened not only by the sonos but by the kicks that never seem to end inside my belly! As my body expands and begins final preparation for birth, it also becomes a conversation piece for strangers. Now in the third trimester, everyone who looks at me knows I’m pregnant. The guy at the bus stop asks me if I’m having a boy or girl. A cashier at Giant asks if she can touch my belly. The bus driver warns me that they don’t deliver babies. People at work ask how I feel and remark that I’ve gotten big. No longer can I enter the grocery store anonymously. People who would have never looked at me twice now do. They look at my belly before looking into my face (I notice that all the time). I’m not mentioning these things to complain, but to point out that it’s kind of ironic that one of the most intimate and personal things like being pregnant and having a baby also somehow bridges a gap with people creates a sort of harmony and generousity of spirit that wasn’t there before.

So now I’m entering the final month. My last sono on Monday confirmed that the babies are 5 and 4 lbs. 13 oz. currently. The date for my leave request from work is coming up in a few weeks. Both heads are down (thank you Lord) and I hope they stay that way. Josh is busy painting the kitchen tonight and we hope to have that finished this week and get the floors installed on Saturday. My mom and sisters are coming to help organize the babies’ room on Saturday and I hope to also get my bags packed just to be ready no matter when they decide to arrive. The carseats have been ordered and are shipping out today. I only need to order and pick up a few more things. I’m starting to relish “last” things like doing devotions on a quiet Sunday morning, the days at work and sleeping through the night (except for bathroom breaks). But I’m excited for the “new normal” that will be coming soon.


11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2007 9:50 pm

    how exciting–you look great!

  2. April 24, 2007 9:56 pm

    You do look great!
    I am so excited for you and Josh to welcome your new boys (and to find out names)!
    Make sure you and Josh have one last hoorah as just the two of you before you are four.
    Enjoy your last few weeks or so of pregnancy as you prepare for for the arrival your new babies. It will be a whole new world but a wonderful one.
    Praying for you daily!

  3. Ashleigh permalink
    April 24, 2007 10:43 pm

    Danielle, I thought it was great and so true how you pointed out that pregnancy bridges a gap between people. You’ll find that once your boys are born, having babies continues to do that. Since having my girls I have so many more conversations with strangers when I’m shopping, traveling, at a park, or wherever, then I did before kids.

    What do you still need in terms of baby items?

  4. April 25, 2007 12:26 am

    I think your last trimester comments are among the top reasons I loved being pregant. It wasn’t just about new life (which was exciting enough!) but about sharing life and anticipating the “what ifs” with other people. I never did care for people wanting to touch my belly. I don’t understand it. They never do that in “normal” situations; I didn’t suddenly feel open to THAT much attention. Do you mind it?

  5. Kathleen permalink
    April 25, 2007 12:33 am

    We’re so excited for you guys. Enjoy these last few quiet weeks, and then enjoy your newborn babies that God has blessed you both with.

  6. April 25, 2007 7:08 am

    You look incredible! I am thrilled you made it this far (I went to 31.5 weeks). hang in there!

  7. bethyoung permalink
    April 25, 2007 8:51 am

    Aww, great pictures and great post. I can’t wait to see these two little guys on Sunday mornings 🙂

  8. briana permalink
    April 25, 2007 11:16 am

    You have done so well!! And, like others have said, it is wise that you enjoy those quiet Sat. morning devotions. That’s probably one of the things I miss the most. But, there are so many other things about having babies, esp. twins, that make all the losses of life without kids absolutely worth it.

  9. April 25, 2007 11:26 am

    Anne, thanks for your prayers!

    Ashleigh, I ordered the carseats and were shipped yesterday! The final things I have to buy is the diaper bag, get a baby carrier (Kathleen is kind to lend me her Baby Bajorn so we only have to buy one. I forsee us using those ALOT!), changing table pad and cover, the baby swaddlers you recommended, and some other little things. I hope to either pick them up this weekend or order them. Nothing that would be horrible if I didn’t have on hand if they were born tomorrow (excpet the car seats).

    I’m thankful to so many people for letting me borrow bouncers, and giving me mattresses and dressers!

    Zoanna, I don’t care for people in general (especially people I don’t know ) patting my tummy. It’s not something I’m going to get mad about though, it’s just a little weird. The cashier at Giant was the funniest, because she was like bouncing off the walls excited (and I never met her before) and she asked, so I let her.

  10. April 25, 2007 12:05 pm

    Awww you look so cute. Not long now. Isn’t it nice to be at the end. I too can’t wait to see your little guys. You will be in my prayers these next few weeks, knowing it could be any moment. I am so glad their heads turned down and they seem like a really healthy weight for twins. That is wonderful.

  11. Sarah permalink
    April 25, 2007 12:58 pm

    I am so excited for you guys. And, echoing the others, I also can’t wait to see your little boys!

Leave a Reply

